Skip To Content

Assign Named User licenses in ArcGIS Online

This workflow is for ArcGIS Online organization administrators, including administrators of ArcGIS Trial organizations.

Before you can assign ArcGIS Pro licenses to members of your organization, the following conditions must be met:

  • Your ArcGIS Online organization must be up and running as described in Set up an ArcGIS Online organization.
  • You must be an administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization or a member with the administrative privilege of managing licenses.
  • Any members who will be licensed must be Level 2 members of the organization.

For more information about the levels, roles, and privileges, see Levels, roles, and privileges in the ArcGIS Online help.

Configure and assign a license

  1. Sign in to your ArcGIS Online organization.
    Tip:

    You can sign in from the ArcGIS Online website, from your organization’s home page, or from the Sign In page.

  2. At the top of the site, click Organization.
  3. Under your organization name, click the Licenses tab.
    Note:

    Only administrators can assign ArcGIS Pro licenses. If you don't see the Licenses tab, it means that you are not an administrator of the organization—or that you have signed in with an account that is not an administrator account. (You may have more than one account in the organization.) See Find your organization administrator for more information.

    On the Licenses tab, you can manage licenses for ArcGIS Pro or additional products.

  4. Confirm that ArcGIS Pro is selected.

    Bar chart of available licenses for ArcGIS Pro core and extension products

    For each licensed ArcGIS Pro core product and extension, a bar shows the total number of licenses in your organization and the number that can still be assigned.

    Note:

    If you are using an ArcGIS Trial, you will have two ArcGIS Pro Advanced licenses and two licenses for several extensions. You will not have ArcGIS Pro Basic or ArcGIS Pro Standard licenses.

    The members of your organization are listed under the display of licenses.

  5. To assign a license to a member, click the member's name.

    The member is added to a list of selected members on the right side of the page.

    List of organization members and one selected member

    Tip:

    You can find members by searching or filtering. You can also click Select All to add all members to the list. In the Selected Members list, click a member's name to remove the member. Click Clear to remove all members.

  6. Under the list of selected members, click Configure.
  7. Click the ArcGIS Pro license level (Basic, Standard, or Advanced) that you want to authorize for the member and click any extensions you want to authorize.

    ArcGIS Pro Advanced and four extensions selected for organization member

  8. At the bottom of the page, click Assign.
  9. Click OK on the notice that the license has been successfully configured.

    The member can now sign in to start using ArcGIS Pro.

    Tip:

    Optionally, above the Assign button, check the box to notify the member by email that a license has been assigned to them.

Update or revoke a license

You can update a member’s ArcGIS Pro license level or authorized extensions. You can also revoke a member’s license, as long as it is not currently authorized for offline use. (See Start ArcGIS Pro with a Named User license for more information about offline use.) A member whose license is revoked can no longer use ArcGIS Pro, although they still belong to the ArcGIS Online organization. A revoked license can be assigned to another member of the organization.

  1. Sign in as the administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization.
  3. Click the Licenses tab.
  4. On the Licenses tab, confirm that ArcGIS Pro is selected.
  5. Click the name of the member whose license you want to update or revoke.
  6. At the bottom of the list of selected members, click Configure.
    Tip:

    If you are configuring licenses for a single member of the organization, you can click the setting in the Licensed for column next to the member's name to go directly to the license configuration page. You can do this whether you are configuring a license for the first time or changing an existing configuration.

  7. To update the member’s license, click the ArcGIS Pro license level that you want to authorize. Select the check boxes for any extensions you want to authorize (and clear the check boxes for any you want to deauthorize). Click Update.
  8. To revoke the member’s license, click Revoke All.

    On rare occasions, you may need to revoke licenses to fix a situation in which a negative number of licenses is available. This can happen if your Esri Maintenance Program is not kept current. If this happens, you have 30 days from the expiration date to revoke licenses as needed to return the available number to 0. If you don’t revoke the licenses within 30 days, no one in your organization will be able to sign in to ArcGIS Pro.

Terminate a session

You can terminate a member’s active ArcGIS Pro session. This may be useful when a member is signed in to ArcGIS Pro on three different computers at the same time (the maximum allowed) and needs to sign in on another computer. If the member is unable to sign out on one of the computers—for example, because the member is not physically present—you can terminate a session. This enables the member to sign in on another computer.

  1. Sign in as the administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization.
  3. Click the Licenses tab.
  4. On the Licenses tab, confirm that ArcGIS Pro is selected.
  5. In the list of members, find the member whose session you want to terminate. In the Last Used column, click the date.

    The member’s active session, or sessions, displays.

    List of active ArcGIS Pro sessions for a member
    A green bar by a member’s name indicates that they have used ArcGIS Pro within the last 30 minutes. A red bar indicates that a member has authorized ArcGIS Pro for offline use.

  6. In the Action column, click Terminate for the session you want to end.
  7. On the Terminate Session prompt, click OK.

    The session is terminated. In ArcGIS Pro, a message appears to inform the user that they are no longer connected to a licensing portal. The user has 60 minutes to save their work.

    Message that ArcGIS Pro is not connected to a licensing portal

  8. Click Done.

Disable offline usage

By default, ArcGIS Pro named users can take their licenses offline to use the application in a disconnected environment. This workflow is described in Authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline. As the organization administrator, you can disable offline usage. This setting is made for the organization as a whole, not for individual members.

  1. Sign in as the administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization.
  3. Click the Licenses tab.
  4. On the Licenses tab, confirm that ArcGIS Pro is selected.
  5. Check the Disable offline usage of ArcGIS Pro box.

    Check box to disable offline usage of ArcGIS Pro

  6. Click OK on the notice.

Enable Esri access for members

Esri access allows members of the organization to use their ArcGIS Online credentials in sections of Esri websites that require signing in. These include parts of the Esri Support, Esri Training, and GeoNet sites. Esri access is also required for members to sign in to My Esri, the download site for ArcGIS Pro software.

Members cannot enable or disable Esri access for themselves; this option must be set by the ArcGIS Online organization administrator. Esri access can be enabled when a member is invited to join the organization or afterwards. The process of enabling access after a member has joined is described below.

Note:

Esri access does not automatically enable a member to download ArcGIS Pro. If a Downloads tab does not appear under the My Organizations tab in My Esri, the member should click the Request Permissions side tab and ask for software download permission. The request will be sent to the person with the authority to assign download permissions in the member's workplace. (This may or may not be the ArcGIS Online organization administrator.)

  1. Sign in as the administrator of your ArcGIS Online organization.
  2. At the top of the site, click Organization.
  3. Click the Members tab.

    In the list of members, find the member for whom you want to enable Esri access. In the last column, click the More options button More options and click Enable Esri Access on the menu.

  4. Read the Enabling Esri Access message. If you approve Esri access privileges for the member, click OK.
    Note:

    To disable Esri access for a member, follow the same steps and choose Disable Esri Access.

Related topics