Skip To Content

Convert Named User licenses to Concurrent Use

This workflow is for software license administrators. If you are a software user and you are ready to start ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license, see Start ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license.

  1. Sign in to My Esri with your Esri account credentials.
  2. At the top of the page, click the My Organizations tab.
  3. Under the My Organizations tab, click the Licensing tab.
    Note:

    If you don’t see the Licensing tab, you may not be the administrator for your organization. (In My Esri, "organization" means your business or place of work, not your ArcGIS Online organization. The administrator is often the primary maintenance contact for your organization.) To convert licenses, you need permission from your administrator. On the My Organizations tab, click the Request Permissions side tab. Under Request Permissions to your Organization, click Continue. Fill out the Request Permissions Form and ask for permission to manage software licenses.

  4. In the list of tabs on the left, click Convert ArcGIS Pro Named User Licenses.
  5. Under Step 1: Select License, scroll through the products to find the one you want to convert.
    Tip:

    Use the search box or the Sort By filters if you have a long list of products.

    In this example, there are 50 ArcGIS Pro Basic Named User licenses. Under the product name, note that the license type is Concurrent Use. The Named User licenses will be converted to Concurrent Use licenses.

    ArcGIS Pro Named User licenses in My Esri

    Note:

    The version number and license type under the product name apply to the ArcGIS Desktop license as a whole as described in Types of ArcGIS Desktop licenses. You can only convert ArcGIS Pro Named User licenses to the type of ArcGIS Desktop license that you have.

  6. In the Actions column, click Convert.
  7. Under Step 2: Convert Licenses, in the Quantity box, specify a number of licenses to convert.

    In this example, five Named User licenses will be converted to Concurrent Use licenses.

    Five Named User licenses specified as the quantity to be converted

  8. Click Next.
  9. Under Step 3: Review, confirm that your settings are correct. If you need to make changes, click Back.
  10. When you are ready to proceed, click Convert Licenses.

    When the licenses are converted, a message appears at the top of the page.

    Successful conversion message

    Farther down the page, the number of remaining Named User licenses and new Concurrent Use authorizations are noted.

    Only one authorization number is generated for your Concurrent Use licenses. If you convert more Named User licenses at another time, they will have the same authorization number as this one.

    Authorization number for converted licenses

    You will receive an email from My Esri with the authorization number and information about the next steps to authorize the licenses. Optionally, you can click Export: PDF or Excel to save the authorization number to a file. You can also see the authorization number by clicking the View Authorizations side tab and clicking Details for the relevant product.

    Optionally, after 45 minutes, you can create a provisioning file. A provisioning file writes the authorization number or numbers to a file with the extension .prvs. During the authorization process, you can use the provisioning file to bypass most of the steps in the software authorization process.

    Caution:

    After converting Named User licenses, you may need to revoke license assignments that were previously made in ArcGIS Online. Suppose that all 50 ArcGIS Pro Basic licenses in this example were previously assigned to Named Users in the ArcGIS Online organization. Because 5 of those licenses have now been converted to Concurrent Use, 5 Named Users in the organization must have their licenses revoked.

    As the ArcGIS Online organization administrator, you will be prompted to reconfigure the licenses when you sign in to the organization. You will not be able to take other licensing actions until you revoke licenses as needed. For a grace period of 30 days, all ArcGIS Pro Named Users will continue to be able to sign in and use ArcGIS Pro. After 30 days, if the necessary licenses have not been revoked, all Named User licenses will be disabled until the correction is made.

Related topics