Skip To Content

General options

ArcGIS Pro has several general options you can set for the application. On the Options dialog box, on the General tab, you can set the options described in this topic.

Choose how new projects are created

To change how all new projects are created, you can change the application's default settings for creating new projects. You may want to create a new geodatabase or toolbox in the desired location if you want to change the project's default geodatabase or default toolbox settings. Changing these settings does not affect the current project, if one is open, or any other existing projects. To change a current project's home folder, default geodatabase, or default toolbox, see Change project settings.

  • The Always create a new folder for the project option controls whether each project will be created and stored in a separate folder. It is enabled by default. Uncheck the Always create a new folder for the project check box if each project should be created and stored in the same folder.
  • Under Default geodatabase, you can choose to Create a new default file geodatabase for each project or Use the same geodatabase as the default for all projects. By default, a new separate default geodatabase is created for each project. You can click the Use the same geodatabase as the default for all projects option and browse to or type the location of the existing geodatabase that should be used as the new default geodatabase to use the same geodatabase as the default for all new projects.
  • Under Default toolbox, you can choose to Create a new default toolbox for each project or Use the same toolbox as the default for all projects. By default, a new separate default toolbox is created for each project. You can click the Use the same toolbox as the default for all projects option and browse to or type the location of the existing toolbox that should be used as the new default toolbox.
  • Under Default folder, you can choose to Create new projects in the default location or Create new projects in another local or network folder. By default, new projects are created in the default location, MyDocuments\ArcGIS\Projects in the user profile directory. You can click Create new projects in another local or network folder to create new projects in another existing folder on a local or network computer where you have write access and sufficient storage space for many new projects and the items and data associated with them.

The next time you create a new project, the Location text box on the Create a New Project dialog box shows the location associated with the Default folder setting. Also, the Create a new folder for this project check box will be checked or unchecked, as specified by the Always create a new folder for the project setting.

When the new project is created, its default geodatabase and default toolbox will be set appropriately based on the Default geodatabase and Default toolbox settings. Connections to the appropriate database and toolbox will be included in the project, along with the appropriate home folder connection.

Help system

ArcGIS Pro has two ways of accessing help: online from the Internet or offline files installed on your local machine. If you know you will be working in the field or in a disconnected environment and need to use the help system, make sure you install the offline help system. You can learn more about how to work with the ArcGIS Pro help in the About ArcGIS Pro Help topic.

Under Help system, you can choose Online help from the Internet or Offline help from your computer (requires local help installation). By default, Online help from the Internet is enabled. The offline option is only available after you have installed the help setup. You can download the ArcGIS Pro help setup from the location where you obtained the application setup, and run the installation program. When you change this option, the update takes effect immediately.

Personalize

You can personalize ArcGIS Pro by changing the theme. The themes available for ArcGIS Pro are Light and Dark. By default, the theme is Light. To change the theme to dark, click the Theme drop-down arrow and click Dark. Restart ArcGIS Pro for your theme changes to take effect.

Related topics