Skip To Content

ArcGIS Desktop license types

ArcGIS Desktop offers the following three types of license:

  • Named User (available for ArcGIS Pro only)
  • Single Use
  • Concurrent Use

Named User license

The Named User license type is available for ArcGIS Pro only and is the default license type for ArcGIS Pro. Using a different license type is possible but requires a conversion of licenses through My Esri.

With the Named User license type, ArcGIS Pro core and extension licenses are assigned to members of an ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise organization. Licenses are assigned by the ArcGIS organization administrator using the organization's web application.

ArcGIS Pro license management user interface in ArcGIS Online
The ArcGIS organization administrator assigns ArcGIS Pro licenses to selected members of the organization.

An organization member who has been assigned an ArcGIS Pro license uses their ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise account credentials to sign in to ArcGIS Pro. The member can sign in to the application on any machine on which it is installed (up to three machines at the same time).

The application runs with the license level (Advanced, Standard, or Basic) specified by the organization administrator and with any extensions for which licenses have been assigned. The license type and level can be seen in ArcGIS Pro on the Licensing page.

License type identified as Named User in ArcGIS Pro

Note:

It is possible to have a combination of ArcGIS Pro license types. You can keep a certain number of Named User licenses and convert others to Concurrent Use or Single Use. See Convert Named User licenses to Single Use and Convert Named User licenses to Concurrent Use for more information.

Single Use license

A Single Use license authorizes one person to use ArcGIS Desktop, optionally including ArcGIS Pro, on one machine, such as a desktop computer. The license also authorizes the same person to use ArcGIS Desktop on a second machine, such as a laptop computer. However, the software may not be used on both machines at the same time.

A Single Use license can be transferred to a different machine used by a different individual by deauthorizing the license on the currently authorized machine and repeating the authorization process on the new machine.

It is not necessary to sign in to use ArcGIS Pro with a Single Use license. However, it is necessary to sign in with ArcGIS account credentials to access content from ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise.

Concurrent Use license

A Concurrent Use license enables multiple users to share access to ArcGIS Desktop, optionally including ArcGIS Pro, from any computer on a network or a virtual machine. ArcGIS License Manager software, installed on a network computer, manages the distribution of a pool of shared licenses. The number of Concurrent Use licenses in the pool determines how many people can use the software at the same time. When a user starts ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license, the software sends a request to the license manager to determine if a license is available. The user can choose any available license level and extensions. At this point, the software is enabled and the number of available licenses decreases by one. When the user stops using the software, the license is returned to the pool.

A Concurrent Use license can also be borrowed from the License Manager so that the software can be used for a specified time while a user is disconnected from the network. When a license is borrowed, the number of available licenses in the pool decreases by one. The user can return the license to the pool by reconnecting to the network. (The license will be returned automatically at the end of the specified borrowing time.)

It is not necessary to sign in to use ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license. However, it is necessary to sign in with ArcGIS account credentials to access content from ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise.

Related topics