The ArcGIS Pro Add-In Manager page is where you can manage add-ins that are developed with the ArcGIS Pro SDK for Microsoft .NET. The ArcGIS Pro SDK integrates with Microsoft Visual Studio and allows for customizations that can access the ArcGIS Pro API. An add-in is a collection of customizations that are packaged within a single compressed file (.esriAddInX). You can share add-ins easily because they do not require an additional installation program. You can add add-ins to a client machine by double-clicking the file within Windows File Explorer or by copying the add-in to a well-known folder. Add-ins can also be shared with others in your organization using a centralized network share.
When you double-click an add-in, the Esri ArcGIS Add-In Installation Utility opens for you to validate the add-in and copy it to the appropriate well-known folder. On the Esri ArcGIS Add-In Installation Utility, you can review the author, description, version, and digital signature information of the add-in before installation. This validation step ensures that the file is copied to the appropriate location and that name conflicts are handled, and it guarantees that any existing version of the add-in file is not overwritten by an older version.
When you open the Add-In Manager page in ArcGIS Pro, the application will search specified well-known folders for add-in files. After the files are located, they are installed and appear on the Add-Ins tab of the Add-In Manager page. The Add-Ins tab provides detailed information on every installed add-in currently available.
On the Add-Ins tab, you can delete an add-in. Deleting the add-in moves the selected add-in file from its folder to the system Recycle Bin. The Delete this Add-In option is only available for local add-ins in the My Add-Ins list on the Add-Ins tab. Shared add-ins are listed under Shared Add-ins and cannot be deleted through the Add-In Manager page.
On the Options tab, you can add custom well-known add-in folders. After you add a folder, ArcGIS Pro searches the added folders for add-ins each time you start the application. This option is useful if you use a central network location to share your add-ins within your organization.
On the Options tab, you can also set the security options for loading add-ins, which will be applied to all folders where ArcGIS Pro searches for add-ins. By default, Load all Add-Ins without restriction (Least Secure) is enabled. You can choose to require add-ins to be digitally signed by a trusted publisher or load only Esri-provided add-ins (this is the most secure option).