Skip To Content

Report software errors

If ArcGIS Pro closes unexpectedly, a dialog box appears, allowing you to send an error report to the Esri Development team.

The dialog box for a serious application error
Optionally, you can include your email address, the steps leading up to the error, and your system information.

It is recommended that you send a report whenever you have a serious application error. The report contains information that helps Esri developers fix problems that can be hard to reproduce otherwise. For example, an error report may identify a hardware limitation, a memory leak that consumes system resources, or a compatibility issue with third-party software. Most of the time, you will not receive a response about the report, but in some cases, Esri will have a recommendation or a question and want to follow up. Providing an email address allows Esri to contact you.

By default, error reports are sent to Esri through a web service. However, if you don't have Internet access when the error occurs, you can attach the report to an email and send it later to ArcGISErrorReport@esri.com. Error report files have the extension .dmp and are saved to the application data location on your local hard drive, typically C:\Users\<User Name>\AppData\Local\ESRI\ErrorReports. The 10 most recent reports are saved.

All error reports are confidential to Esri, and their usage is covered by the Esri Privacy Policy.

If you can reproduce the serious application error by a definite series of steps, you should also contact Esri Support or your international distributor to report a bug.

What happens when you submit an error report

Error reports go through an automated review to make sure they have enough information to be useful and to check whether the same problem has been reported previously. If the problem has not been reported previously, a new record is created in the Esri bug tracking system. If the problem has been reported, the report count is incremented.

Not every error can be successfully diagnosed. However, if you include a detailed description of what you were doing when the problem occurred, Esri has a better chance of identifying the cause. Attempts are made to fix all errors that can be diagnosed. Once an error is fixed and tested, it is installed in the next available software release.

Configure error reporting

If you have administrator privileges on your computer, you can edit the registry to change the way that ArcGIS Pro notifies you of serious application errors. See the error report registry settings in the following table to create registry keys in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESRI\Settings\ErrorReports:

Error report registry settings

SettingTypeDescription

EnableErrorReport

DWORD

If set to 1, error reporting is enabled.

If set to 0, error reporting is disabled.

ShowErrorDialog

DWORD

If set to 1, the error report dialog box is shown.

If set to 0, the error report dialog box is not shown.

EnableWebService

DWORD

If set to 1, the error report is sent to the web service.

If set to 0, the error report is not sent to the web service.

EmailAddress

String

The email address to which the error report should be sent if the web service is not enabled. The string value should be ArcGISErrorReport@esri.com.

YourEmailAddress

String

The email address that appears by default in the error report dialog box. The string value should be your email address.

CacheSize

DWORD

The maximum number of error reports to save on your disk.

Names, types, and descriptions of error report registry settings

Some registry key settings have dependencies on other keys. The table below describes the effects of different combinations of registry key values. No matter what combination of registry settings is used, a copy of the error report is saved to your local disk.

Effects of error report registry settings

EnableErrorReportShowErrorDialogEnableWebServiceEffect

1

1

1

The default error report dialog box appears. (This is the same behavior as when no registry keys are created.)

1

1

0

A dialog box—different from the default error report dialog box—prompts you to save the error report and email it to Esri.

1

0

0

The application closes with no message. An error report is not sent to Esri.

1

0

1

The application closes with no message. An error report is sent automatically to Esri.

0

Any

Any

A message box informs you that a serious application error has occurred. An error report is not sent to Esri.

Combinations of settings and their effects

The Esri User Experience Improvement program

The Esri User Experience Improvement program collects data about how you use ArcGIS Pro, such as the tools you use and items you click on the user interface. Some hardware and operating system information is also collected. The data is periodically uploaded to a web service and sent to Esri. It is used by developers to improve the interface and usability of ArcGIS Pro. No personal information is collected, and no information is collected about your use of other software applications.

Participation in the program is unobtrusive. It does not affect software performance and requires no action on your part. For more information about the program, see FAQ: How does the Esri User Experience Improvement program work for ArcGIS Desktop? on the Esri Technical Support site.

When you install ArcGIS Pro, one of the preliminary steps prompts you to participate in the Esri User Experience Improvement program. By default, the check box to participate is selected. If you don't want to participate, clear the check box before proceeding.

The option to participate in the Esri User Experience Improvement program in the installation wizard panel

If you participate at first and later decide to stop participating, you can change the value of the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ESRI\ArcGISPro\Settings\EnableEUEI registry key from 1 to 0. This assumes that you have administrator privileges on your computer. Alternatively, you can begin to uninstall ArcGIS Pro and choose to Repair (not Remove) the application. On the Ready to Repair the Program dialog box, clear the participation check box and proceed to install the repair.