Skip To Content

Start ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license

This is a workflow for ArcGIS Pro software users. It is assumed that ArcGIS Pro is installed on your computer and that your software license administrator has given you the name of a license manager server to connect to.

Set the license type to Concurrent Use

  1. Start ArcGIS Pro.
  2. At the bottom of the ArcGIS Sign In page, click Configure your licensing options.

    The Licensing dialog box appears.

    Note:

    If you bypass the ArcGIS Sign In page, click About ArcGIS Pro in the lower left corner of the ArcGIS Pro start page. In the options on the left side of the application, click Licensing. On the Licensing page, click Configure your licensing options.

  3. On the Licensing dialog box, click the License Type drop-down menu and click Concurrent Use License.
  4. Under License Level, click the license level you want to use: Advanced, Standard, or Basic.
  5. In the License Manager text box, type the name of the license manager.

    The name of the license manager needs to be provided by your software license administrator.

  6. In the Backup text box, type the name of a backup license manager if one has been given to you.

    Licensing dialog box with license type set to Concurrent Use License

    The available licenses and extensions are displayed. The core product license (for example, ArcGIS Pro Basic) should be checked by default. If you do not see any licenses, click Refresh.

  7. In the Licensed column, select the check boxes for any available extensions you want to use. Click OK.

    ArcGIS Pro opens and is ready to use.

    Note:

    If you were previously signed in to ArcGIS Pro with a different license type, such as a Named User license, you will be prompted to close and restart the application for the license change to take effect.

    In the upper right corner of the application, notice that you are not signed in. You do not need to sign in to use the application and there is no licensing portal. However, your computer must be connected to the same network where the ArcGIS License Manager software is installed. To use ArcGIS Pro without connecting to the license manager, see the Authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline section below.

    Signing in to an active portal is necessary, however, to exchange content between ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise.

Change the license level or extensions

A Concurrent Use license gives you the flexibility to change your ArcGIS Pro license level or to add extensions, as long as they are available in the license manager.

  1. Start ArcGIS Pro.
  2. On the ArcGIS Pro start page, click About ArcGIS Pro in the lower left corner of the application window. Alternatively, if you are working in a project, click the Project tab on the ribbon.
  3. In the options on the left side of the application, click Licensing. On the Licensing page, click Configure your licensing options.
  4. Under License Level, click the license level you want and select the check boxes for any available extensions you want to use.

    License level set to Advanced and two extensions selected
    In this example, the core product license has been set to Advanced and the 3D Analyst and Image Analyst extensions have been selected.

  5. Click OK.

Authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline

If you need to work in a disconnected environment, you can authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline. This allows you to use the application without connecting to the network.

When you authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline, you can only use the application on one machine. This is the machine you use to take your license offline.

If you work in an environment with periodic online access, you can sign in to an active portal to exchange content with ArcGIS Online when access is available. Even when ArcGIS Pro is authorized to work offline, you must sign in to an active portal to get content from ArcGIS Online or share content to ArcGIS Online.

  1. On the ArcGIS Pro start page, click About ArcGIS Pro in the lower left corner of the application window. Alternatively, if you are working in a project, click the Project tab on the ribbon.
  2. In the options on the left side of the application, click Licensing.
  3. Under Settings, accept the default Number of days value or choose a different number of days.

    If you do not manually return the borrowed license within the specified number of days, it will be returned automatically.

  4. Check the Authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline check box.

    The license is borrowed and ArcGIS Pro can be used without connecting to the license manager.

Return an offline license

When you return to a connected work environment, you can take your license back online.

  1. On the ArcGIS Pro start page, click About ArcGIS Pro in the lower left corner of the application window. Alternatively, if you have a project open, click the Project tab on the ribbon.
    Note:

    You must check in the license on the same machine you used to check it out.

  2. In the options on the left side of the application, click Licensing.
  3. Under Settings, uncheck the Authorize ArcGIS Pro to work offline check box.

    The borrowed license is returned.

Related topics