Skip To Content

Manage geodatabase locks

Available with Standard or Advanced license.

Locks are applied to geodatabase objects to help ensure data integrity. For example, if someone is editing the data in a table, a schema lock is placed on the table so the owner cannot change the table's schema while someone is editing the data.

Which locks you can see from an ArcGIS Desktop client depends on whether you are a dataset or version owner, or the geodatabase administrator. Dataset and version owners can view locks for the items they own; geodatabase administrators can view all locks, and disconnect users holding locks when necessary.

View locks on your datasets and versions

If you need to see who is holding a lock that is preventing you from altering the schema of a dataset you own or deleting a version you own, you can view a list of these locks on the Geodatabase Administration dialog box.

  1. Start ArcGIS Pro and connect to the geodatabase as the dataset or version owner.
  2. Right-click the database connection in the Catalog pane, click Properties, and expand the Connections section.
  3. Click Show connected users and locks.

    The Locks list on the Geodatabase Administration dialog box opens, and you can see the locks for datasets and versions you own.

  4. If you need the lock released, either contact the user identified in the list as holding the lock and ask him or her to close their connection to the version or dataset, or contact your geodatabase administrator.

Manage geodatabase locks

Geodatabase administrators can see who is holding schema, version, and state locks for all items in the geodatabase using the Locks tab of the Geodatabase Administration dialog box. The geodatabase administrator can also remove the connections that are holding locks to free the resource for use. Note that you cannot remove an individual lock; you can only disconnect the user, thereby removing all locks held by that user.

  1. Start ArcGIS Pro and connect to the geodatabase as the geodatabase administrator.
  2. Right-click the database connection in the Catalog pane, click Properties, and expand the Connections section.
  3. Click Show connected users and locks.

    The Geodatabase Administration dialog box opens.

  4. Click the Locks tab to view geodatabase locks.

    Use the drop-down menus at the top to filter by object name, lock type, or lock owner.

  5. Contact the user who holds the lock that needs to be released and ask him or her finish the transaction and disconnect from the geodatabase. If the person is gone for the day and the lock needs to be released immediately, you can disconnect the user.
    Caution:

    Use caution when disconnecting users. Esri recommends that you avoid disconnecting active sessions, especially if the connected user is in the process of editing. You should only disconnect users to drop locks if a session was left open even when not being used (for example, over the weekend), if a session is orphaned and locking an object, or if a deadlock situation occurs.

  6. If necessary, right-click the lock and click Disconnect User.