Skip To Content

Create, modify, and delete the fields of a layer or table

The fields view is used to manage the fields associated with a layer or table. Within the fields view you can make edits to a layer or table's fields, modify their properties, delete fields, or create new ones.

While in the fields view we can perform some edits to the fields from that Building layer such as the following:

  1. Change the name and alias of a field.
  2. Delete some unnecessary fields.
  3. Add a new field called BLDGTYPE to store the type of campus building.
  4. Apply a domain to a field.
  5. Apply a default value to a field.

Example edits done in Fields view

These are examples of some standard editing tasks you can do in Fields view.

Edit a field's name and alias

To edit a field's name, double-click in the cell of the field name you would like to change and enter a new name. Do the same to edit the alias of a field.

Delete a field

To delete a field, select the row by clicking in the leftmost column beside the field name of the field you'd like to delete. With the entire row highlighted, you can delete the field by pressing the Delete key, using the Delete option from the clipboard on the ribbon, or right-clicking the row and clicking Delete.

Delete multiple fields

  1. Click in the leftmost column beside the field name of the field you'd like to delete to select that row.
  2. Press and hold the Ctrl key and select the other rows of fields you would like to delete.
    Note:

    Alternatively, you can press and hold Shift and click another row to highlight all rows in between the first row you selected and the one you've clicked.

  3. Delete the field by pressing the Delete key, clicking the Delete button on the Fields tab, or right-clicking the row and clicking Delete.

Create a new field and apply a domain and default value

  1. You can create a new field by clicking the New Field button on the Fields tab or clicking the last row in the view that says Click here to add a new field.
  2. A cursor appears in the Field Name column. Enter a name for the new field.
  3. Double-click the Alias column and enter an alias for the field.
  4. Select the Data Type column and choose a data type from the drop-down menu.
  5. The Allow Null column will be unavailable for layers that already contain data. For a newly created layer, or for schema-only layer packages, you can click the Allow Null drop-down menu and choose Yes or No.
  6. If you would like to apply a domain to the field, click the drop-down arrow in the Domain column and select one from the list.
    Note:

    Only valid domain types will be displayed in the Domain drop-down list. For example, the option to create a new range domain will not be present on a text field.

    Tip:

    You can also create a new domain from the Domains drop-down list by clicking either Create new range domain or Create new coded value domain. This will open the domains view with the new domain prepopulated with the properties from the field. After entering the domain properties and clicking Save on the Domains tab, the new domain will be available in the Domains drop-down list in the fields view and subtypes view.

  7. If you would like to add a default value to the field, click in the Default value cell and enter a value.
  8. If you are creating a new text field, you can change the length parameter of the field by clicking in the Length cell and either typing in the desired length or clicking the up and down arrows in the cell to reach the desired length.

Save edits made in the fields view

When you are done creating the new field, you can click the Save button on the Fields tab to apply the edits you've made, and any edits made before this, to the underlying database.

As edits are made within the fields view, a green indicator appears next to edited rows. ArcGIS Pro keeps a record of the changes made in the fields view in memory until they are applied to the database by clicking the Save button on the tab.

Red indicators next to a row indicate an error that will keep that row from being committed when clicking Save. If there is a red indicator on a row that you've edited, you can hover over the indicator and a message will pop up telling you why there is an error. Correcting the error will turn the indicator green again, and click the Save button to commit those edits.

If there are unapplied edits when closing the fields view, a pop-up will alert you with a warning that explains that continuing to close the view will result in those edits being lost. If you click OK, the view will close and the edits will be removed from memory. If you click Cancel, you can apply the unapplied edits by clicking the Save button on the tab, or you can take the time to fix any errors on rows that have red indicators before applying the edits and closing the fields view.