Skip To Content

Work with historical moments

You can examine historical information in archive enabled classes by connecting to a historical moment using the History pane. A historical moment is a specific moment in time that is either the current database's time (the DEFAULT historical marker), a predefined historical marker, or a database date and time that you specify.

What date and time is it?

When working with archived information, it's important to understand that the date and time recorded in the gdb_from_date and the gdb_to_date fields of the archive reflect the date and time a transaction took place—when a feature was added, edited, or removed from the feature class. This date and time is received from the server OS. This affects how you access and query the archive.

If you're working in a time zone different than the server, queries against a moment in time must reflect the server's time, not the time on the client OS. For example, if you perform an edit at 9:05 a.m. (PST), but the DBMS resides in New York, the transaction time recorded for this edit is actually 12:05 p.m. (EST). Subsequently, if you were to query the historical version for 9:05 a.m., you would no longer see the edit, because at 9:05 a.m. on the server, that feature had not been created. To see the newly added feature, you would need to query the DBMS for 12:05 p.m.

Note:

When you connect to a historical moment, if you specify a date and time prior to the moment that archiving was enabled, no data will be accessible. Archived data is only accessible from the moment you enable archiving forward. For example, if you enable archiving on 2/1/10, then change to a historical moment specifying the date 1/31/10, no data will appear.

Historical markers

A historical marker is a named moment in time that you create. Creating historical markers makes it easier for you to connect to specific moments and also to navigate between moments for viewing and analysis. You can create, edit, delete, and connect to historical markers in the History pane.

These are some tips on historical markers:

  • All users have privileges to create, modify, and delete historical markers.
  • The DEFAULT historical marker is a reserved name and cannot be deleted or renamed.
  • If you delete or rename a historical marker that is currently in use in another ArcGIS Pro session, you'll lose your data sources in the second session.

DEFAULT historical marker

Connecting to the DEFAULT historical marker displays the current representation of the archive classes, which is equivalent to the class representations in the transactional DEFAULT version.

Note:

Connecting through the DEFAULT historical marker allows a read-only connection, which can actually consume fewer database resources than working with the equivalent versioned class. The archive class does not rely on the information stored in the delta tables or the ArcSDE repository versioning tables, meaning that querying the archive class for all records that are currently active (gdb_to_date of 12/31/9999) can often be faster than querying the DEFAULT transactional version.

Connect to a historical moment

You can connect to a historical moment using the History pane.

To access the History pane, click the database icon near the top of the Contents pane to change the pane to list by data source. Then select a data source in the list. If the data source has one or more versioned or archiving enabled classes, a contextual Data Source ribbon will become available with a tab named Versioning. In the Archiving section of the ribbon there is a button labelled Historical Moments. Clicking this button will open the History pane.

The History pane has a drop-down combo box containing the data sources from the current map and three options for connecting to a historical moment. You can provide a specific date and time you want to connect to, select a predefined historical moment, or return to the current time.

Note:

The option to Return to current time is unavailable unless you're connected to a historical moment.

Tip:

If you check the Auto Apply check box at the bottom of the History pane, whenever you enter a specific date and time in the dialog box, or select a historical moment, the map will automatically refresh and display a read-only view of the data for the moment in time you specified.

Connect to a specific date and time

To connect to a specific moment in time. click the Specific Date and Time button in the History pane and enter the date and time you want to connect to in the dialog box.

You can also click the calendar icon to bring up a calendar of dates and a clock. Choose the date you want by clicking it in the calendar, and choose a specific time by either entering it in the time dialog box or using the arrows beside the dialog box to increase or decrease the time. Clicking outside of the calendar will return you to the History pane and input the choices you've selected for the date and time.

When you click Apply at the bottom of the History pane, the map will refresh and display a read-only view of the data for the moment in time you specified.

Connect using a historical marker

To connect to a historical moment, click the Historical Moment button in the History pane. This will enable the grid containing the DEFAULT historical marker and any other historical markers you've previously created. Selecting one of the markers and clicking Apply at the bottom of the History pane will refresh the map and display a read-only view of the data for the moment in time specified in the Date column for that historical marker.

You can filter the grid by a historical marker's name using the Name text box above the grid. Start typing in the text box, and the grid will display only historical markers that match the text you've typed in the Name text box so far.

You can also filter the grid by typing in the Start and End text boxes above the grid. If you want to see all of the historical markers created after a certain date, type the date in the Start text box. If you want to see all of the historical markers created up to a certain date, type the date in the End text box.

Return to the current time

If you're currently connected to a historical moment, you can return to the current time by clicking the Return to Current Time button near the bottom of the History pane and clicking Apply. When you're connected to a historical moment, you're in a read-only view of the data for that specific date and time. By returning to the current time, you can edit and update features in the map again.

Create, modify, and delete historical markers

To create new markers or make edits to existing markers, click the Historical Moment button in the History pane. This activates the grid containing the list of historical markers. At the bottom of the grid is an Edit Markers button. Clicking this will put the grid in an edit mode allowing you to create, delete, or modify the properties of historical markers.

After you're done creating, updating, and deleting historical markers, click the Save button to save the edits that you've made. If you're not interested in saving the edits, click Discard to discard them.

Create a new historical marker

To create a new marker, put the Historical Moment grid in edit mode by clicking the Edit Markers button. At the bottom of the grid there is a row that says "Click here to add a new marker". Clicking in that row will add a new marker and set the date and time to the current date and time. Click in the Name column and enter a new name for the historical marker. If you want to specify a different date, click in the Date column and enter one. Clicking the down arrow will bring up a calendar and clock that you can also use to enter a specific date for the historical marker.

Edit properties of a historical marker

To edit the properties of an existing historical marker, put the Historical Moment grid in edit mode by clicking the Edit Markers button. You can change the name of a historical marker by double clicking it's name and entering a new one. Similarly, you can change the date and time for any given historical marker by double-clicking it's date and entering a new one. Clicking the down arrow will bring up a calendar and clock that you can also use to enter a specific date for the historical marker.

Delete a historical marker

To delete a historical marker, put the Historical Moment grid in edit mode by clicking the Edit Markers button. Then select the historical marker you'd like to delete and either press the Delete key on the keyboard, or right-click and choose Delete.