Skip To Content

Settings for editing versions

On the Options dialog box, on the Editing tab, you can define how conflicts for versioned data are defined and reconciled when you save your edits. You can show the Conflict Manager dialog box and interactively review conflicts or hide it and reconcile conflicts automatically.

When you edit data that is registered as versioned, you are modifying an isolated version of the same data other users can be editing. Your edits are tracked in system tables. When you save your edits, version conflicts are merged back to the target version based on the settings described in the following sections.

To learn more about versioning, see Overview of versioning.

How do you want conflicts resolved?

You can set version conflicts to be resolved in favor of the edited version or the target version. Conflicts for feature services registered as branch versioned can only be resolved in favor of the edited version.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Versioning and choose one of the following settings:
    • In favor of the edit version—Overwrites conflicts in the target version with your changes. This is the default setting.
    • In favor of the target version—Keeps conflicts in the target version and discards your changes.
      Note:

      This setting is not available for feature services registered as branch versioned.

  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

How you do want to define conflicts?

You can define a conflict as a discrepancy between corresponding attribute fields, or between object geometry and attributes in a database row. Conflicts for feature services registered as branch versioned can only be defined as object geometry and attributes in a database row.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click the Editing tab.
  3. Expand Versioning and choose one of the following settings:
    • By attribute (by column)—Identifies a conflict only when discrepancies exist between attributes. This is the default setting.
      Note:

      This setting is not available for feature services registered as branch versioned.

    • By object (by row)—Identifies a conflict when discrepancies exist between object geometry and attributes in the database row.
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

How do you want to review conflicts from multiple users?

When you save your edits, you can show the Conflict Manager dialog box and review the conflicts interactively, or hide the dialog box and reconcile them automatically based on your settings.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click the Editing tab.
  3. Expand Versioning and choose one of the following settings:
    • Show Conflict Manager and let me review conflicts—This is the default setting.
    • Automatically save edits and do not show Conflict Manager—Conflicts are reconciled based on your current settings and saved automatically to the target version.
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.