Skip To Content

Settings for saving edits

On the project Options dialog box, on the Editing tab, you can change settings for saving edits. In the Session section, these settings include automatic saves, showing dialog boxes when you save or discard edits, deactivating an editing tool when you save or discard edits, and making newly added layers editable by default.

Save edits at recurring intervals

To enable recurring automatic saves, expand Session, check Automatically save edits, and set Time interval (minutes) or Number of operations.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Session and check Automatically save edits.
  4. Choose one of the following recurring save cycles and type a numeric value:
    • Time interval (minutes)—Saves your edits when the timer reaches the specified elapsed time.

      Note:

      The timer starts after your first edit operation, and it is reset after each save.

    • Number of operations—Saves your edits when the counter reaches the specified number of operations.
      Note:

      The counter starts after your first edit operation, and it is reset after each save. Clicking Undo Undo decrements the counter. Conversely, Redo Redo increments the counter.

  5. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

Save edits when you save a project

To automatically save your edits when you save a project, expand Session and check Save edits when you save the project.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Session and check the Save edits when saving a project check box.
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

Show dialog boxes

To show the Save Edits or Discard Edits dialog box when you save or discard edits, expand Session and check Show dialog to confirm save edits or Show dialog to confirm discard edits. These two settings are enabled by default.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Session and check the following check boxes:
    • Show dialog to confirm save edits
    • Show dialog to confirm discard edits
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

Deactivate an active editing tool

To deactivate an active editing tool when you save or discard edits and run the Explore tool Explore Tool automatically, expand Session and check Deactivate an active editing tool when saving or discarding.

If you are actively modifying a feature, your edits at that moment are finished and your changes are saved or discarded.

Caution:

Enabling this setting and enabling the Automatically save edits setting can potentially interrupt your workflow and save unintended edits at recurring intervals.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Session and check Deactivate an active editing tool when saving or discarding.
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.

Make newly added layers editable

To automatically enable editing for editable layers when you add them to a map or a scene, expand Session and check Make newly added layers editable by default. This setting is enabled by default.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click the Options dialog box launcher Launcher.
  2. On the Options dialog box, click Editing.
  3. Expand Session and check Make newly added layers editable by default.
  4. Click OK.

    Your settings are saved and the dialog box closes.