Skip To Content

Editing options

ArcGIS Pro installs with default project and application settings for editing. These settings include general editing tool preferences, session settings for saving your edits, and settings for working with versioned data.

General options

The General settings define general tool behavior, including dynamic constraints, pointer double-click and touchscreen settings, displaying layer symbology as you draw a new feature, and how the editing toolbars appear in the current map.

For steps to customize general tool settings, see Settings for general editing tools.

  • Show dynamic constraints in the map—When enabled, on screen controls display direction and distance for new polyline or polygon segments as you create them. You can tab through the controls and lock one or both constraints to values you type in the control.
  • Enable double-click as a shortcut for the Finish button—Runs the Finish command Finish when you double-click the pointer.
  • Touch screen input for new features—Enables touch screen input for devices that support touch input.
  • Show feature symbology in the sketch—Displays the current layer symbology as you create new features.
  • Show the editing toolbar on the map—Shows the editing toolbars on the map when you create or modify features. You can configure orientation and size, and set them to magnify the tool icons as you hover over them.

Session options

The Session settings allow you to customize certain behaviors for saving your edits as you work. These include automatic saves, showing dialog boxes when you save or discard edits, deactivating an editing tool when you save or discard edits, and making newly added layers editable by default.

For steps to customize session settings, see Settings for saving edits.

  • Automatically save edits—Enables you to automatically save your edits at recurring intervals. You can set the interval to elapsed minutes or the number of operations you perform in the map.
  • Save edits when you save the project—Automatically saves your edits when you save the project.
  • Show dialog to confirm save edits—Shows the Save Edits dialog box when you save your edits, and you need to click Yes or No.
  • Show dialog to confirm discard edits—Shows the Discard Edits dialog box when you discard your edits, and you need to click Yes or No.
  • Deactivate an active editing tool when saving or discarding—Deactivates an active editing tool when you save or discard edits and runs the Explore tool Explore Tool automatically.
    Caution:

    Enabling this setting and enabling the Automatically save edits setting can potentially interrupt your workflow and save unintended edits at recurring intervals.

  • Make newly added layers editable by default—Automatically enables editing for editable layers when you add them to a map or a scene. This automatically checks the layer in the Contents pane, on the List By Editing tab List By Editing.

Versioning

The Versioning settings define how conflicts for versioned data are defined and reconciled when you save your edits. When you edit data that is registered as versioned, you are modifying an isolated version of the same data other users can be editing.

For steps to customize settings for editing versioned data , see Settings for editing versions .

  • Resolve conflicts
    • In favor of the edit version—Overwrites conflicts in the target version with your changes. This is the default setting.
    • In favor of the target version—Keeps conflicts in the target version and discards your changes.
      Note:

      This setting is not available for feature services registered as branch versioned.

  • Define conflicts
    • By attribute (by column)—Identifies a conflict only when discrepancies exist between attributes. This is the default setting.
      Note:

      This setting is not available for feature services registered as branch versioned.

    • By object (by row)—Identifies a conflict when discrepancies exist between geometry or attributes.
  • Review conflicts
    • Show Conflict Manager and let me review conflicts—This is the default setting.
    • Automatically save edits and do not show Conflict Manager—Conflicts are reconciled based on your current settings and saved automatically to the target version.

Related topics