Skip To Content

Edit animation overlays

The selected or active overlay in an animation has several editable properties including:

  • Position—The position of the overlay can be changed to a predefined screen location or manually adjusted.
  • Scale—Controls the size of the overlay within the view.
  • Display priority—Controls the draw order of the overlay within the view. Particularly useful when multiple overlays exist on a single or string of keyframes.
  • Update an image—Select a new image file to use for the image overlay in the view.
  • Delete overlay—Remove the selected overlay from the animation.
  • Edit text—Change the text that appears for Title or Paragraph overlays.

Position

There are two ways to move an overlay in the view. There are nine preset positions and also an option to manually move the overlay within the view.

  1. Open the Animation Properties Properties pane and click the Overlay tab.
  2. Select the overlay you want to edit by clicking it in the overlays list. You can optionally click the overlay where it appears along the overlay timeline on the Animation Timeline pane.
  3. Expand the Position section of the Overlay tab on the Animation Properties pane and choose one of the position presets.
  4. Optionally, click Adjust Position and manually move the overlay around the view to the desired location.
  5. Click the on-screen Close to close editing and apply the position changes.
  6. When an overlay is repositioned, the anchor point may also change. The anchor point is a small, square symbol apparent on the overlay when it is in edit mode. It is where scaling initiates from. So if you also enlarge an overlay, it will grow outward from the anchor point. For example, from the upper right to the lower left of the view.

Scale

Scaling an overlay increases or reduces the size of the overlay in the view.

  1. Select the overlay you want to edit by clicking it in the Overlays list on the Animation Properties pane. You can optionally click the overlay where it appears along the overlay timeline on the Animation Timeline pane.
  2. Change the value in the Scale input box in the Overlay group on the Animation tab. Scale can be changed from 5 percent to 1000 percent.
  3. The updated overlay size is automatically updated in the view.

Display priority

Sometimes you will find you have multiple overlays stacked in the view. The last generated overlay will display on top of all others. In the Overlays list on the Animation Properties pane, the list of overlays denotes the order draw order in the view. The topmost item in the list has the highest drawing priority. You can click and drag to reorder any overlay within the list the same as you would to reorder layers in the Contents pane.

Update an image

To replace an image for an image overlay, you must first select the image overlay to make it active. Once the image overlay is active, click Image File from the Overlay group on the Animation Properties pane. You can then browse to an updated or different image you want to use.

You can select an overlay to make it active by clicking it in the Overlay list on the Animation Properties pane, or click Select Next Overlay Next Visible Overlay.

Remove an overlay

To remove the selected overlay from the animation, click Delete Overlay Delete from either the Overlay tab on the Animation Properties pane when you hover over the overlay, or from the Overlay group on the Animation tab.

Edit text

When a text overlay is generated and added to the animation, the default text is populated with Text, Text 2, Text 3, or Paragraph, Paragraph2, Paragraph 3 and so on with each additional text overlay added. Select the overlay you want to update and click the Edit Text button to format the text. When you edit the text from within the Overlays tab on the Animation Properties pane, you see your changes update in the view. Click the Edit Text button again to commit your changes. For on-screen text editing, click the Edit Text button from the Overlay group on the Animation tab on the ribbon. Your changes will apply after you close the edit session and commit any changes.

Related topics