Skip To Content

Save a project

It is a good practice to save your changes periodically while you work. Save changes to your project as follows:

  • Click the Save button on the Quick Access toolbar at the top of the app.
  • Press Ctrl+S.
  • Click the Project tab on the ribbon and click Save. Click the Back button at the top to continue working on the project.

Information stored in the project file (.aprx) will be updated when the project is saved. This information includes the following:

  • Items stored in the project such as maps, layouts, tasks, charts, geoprocessing history, and animations
  • Connections to items stored outside the project such as folders, databases, servers, toolboxes, locators, and custom styles
  • A list of the system styles available in the project
  • Which views are open, and which view is the active view
  • Your favorite geoprocessing tools and raster functions for the project

Saving the project does not require you to save spatial data edits, new fields for a table, or ModelBuilder changes that are in progress. Each of these environments has its own methods for saving changes and are disconnected from saving changes to the project.

If you have been working with a read-only project, the Save Project As dialog box appears when you try to save your changes. Provide a name for the new project file (.aprx) that will be created, and specify a writable location. The new project file will continue to reference the same default geodatabase and default toolbox as the original read-only project. If the original project was read-only because it was opened from a read-only network share, the default geodatabase and default toolbox are likely stored in the same location and are also read-only; operations requiring write access to those items may not succeed.


Projects and project templates (.aprx, .ppkx, and .aptx) saved with any version of ArcGIS Pro 1.x can be opened and used by both ArcGIS Pro 1.x and 2.0. However, projects and project templates saved using ArcGIS Pro 2.0 or later cannot be opened by ArcGIS Pro 1.x. You cannot save a copy of an ArcGIS Pro 2.0 project that can be opened with any 1.x version of ArcGIS Pro.

If the current project was originally created with ArcGIS Pro 1.x, a warning appears before changes are saved. If you proceed, the version of the project will be changed to 2.0, and ArcGIS Pro 1.x will not be able to open it. If the project is shared with others, consider saving a copy of the project that is specific to ArcGIS Pro 2.0 using Save As as described below.

Save a copy of the current project file

You can save a copy of the current project file (.aprx) with a new file name or in a new location using Save As. For example, you might do this to provide an existing project with a new name, or to quickly create a new project that uses many of the same resources.

The new project has a copy of all information in the original project file. None of the external items connected to the project are copied or changed. The new project file references the same external items in their original locations as the original project file, including its default geodatabase and default toolbox.

  1. If there are any pending changes that should be saved to the current project, click Save.
  2. Click the Project tab on the ribbon.
  3. Click Save As.

    The Save Project As dialog box appears.

  4. Browse to the location on a local or network computer where you want to save a copy of the current project file.
  5. Type a different name for the new project.
  6. Click Save.

    A new project file is created with the name provided at the specified location. The current project closes and the new project opens.

If the original project file was saved on your local computer and you placed the new copy of the project file in a shared network location, others who open the new project file on a different computer will not be able to access any items stored on your local computer; those connections in the Catalog pane and any map layers referencing local datasets will be broken. To share your project with others, create a project package (.ppkx) instead.

Related topics