In addition to publishing new web layers, you can use ArcGIS Pro to overwrite existing web feature and dynamic map image layers to reflect changes to a GIS resource or its source data.
Cached map image layers cannot be overwritten.
You can overwrite an existing web layer if all of the following are true:
- You are signed in to your ArcGIS organization with the account that owns the web layer being overwritten. You cannot overwrite an existing web layer owned by someone else in your organization.
- The web layer being overwritten is the same layer type. That is, you cannot overwrite an existing web feature layer with a web tile layer.
- The location of the web layer being overwritten has not changed while the Overwrite Web Layer pane is open.
To overwrite a web feature layer that references registered data, overwrite its associated map image layer.
In addition to overwriting the content of the web layer, you can modify the item description, who the web layer is shared with, and configuration settings.
Overwrite a web layer
- To overwrite a web layer, do one of the following:
- Overwrite an existing web layer with the map and all of its layers. On the Share tab in the Share As group, click the arrow next to Web Layer and click Overwrite Web Layer .
- Overwrite an existing web layer with selected layers from the map. Select the layers in the Contents pane. Right-click the selected layers, point to the Sharing pull-right menu and click Overwrite Web Layer .
The Overwrite Web Layer dialog box appears.
- By default, both web feature and map image layers can be selected. Click or provide the name of the web layer you want to overwrite and click OK.
You'll be prompted to confirm that you want to overwrite the selected web layer. When you click OK, the Overwrite Web Layer pane appears.
- By default, the summary and tags of the web layer being overwritten are used. Optionally check the Use the item description from the map or layer check box if you want to replace the item description with the summary and tags of the map or layer used to overwrite the existing web layer. In either case, you can modify the information that appears in the Summary and Tags fields if desired.
- Specify how the web layer will be shared:
- My Content—This option only references content in your personal workspace named My Content. Your content is inaccessible to other users.
- My Organization—This option allows your content to be shared with all authenticated users in the organization.
- Everyone—This option makes your content public. Anyone can access and see it.
- Groups—You can share your content with groups you belong to and their members.
- Click the Configuration tab and modify settings as required or needed.
- Optionally click the Content tab to view the new web layer that will be created and all of its components.
- Click Analyze to check for any errors or issues. You must resolve all errors. If any issues are discovered, they appear on the Messages tab. Right-click each message to get more information, read the help for the error or warning, and access suggested fixes. Learn more about analyzing GIS resources
- Once validated, click Publish.