Skip To Content

Save a layer file

A layer can exist outside of your map or project as a layer file (.lyrx). This makes it easy for others to access the layers you've built. You can share layers over the network or by email.

When you add a layer file to a map, it draws exactly as it was saved provided the data referenced by the layer is accessible. If you want to save the layer and its data together, create a layer package instead.

Note:

Layer files (.lyrx) saved using ArcGIS Pro 2.0 cannot be opened by previous versions of ArcGIS Pro.

  1. Select the layer you want to save as a layer file in the Contents pane.
  2. On the Share tab, in the Save As group, click Layer File Layer File. Alternatively, right-click the selected layer and click Save As Layer File.
  3. Type the name of the new layer file.
  4. Click Save.

Related topics