Skip To Content

Use tasks in workflows

Available with Workflow Manager license.

Workflow Manager and tasks are both designed to help organizations meet their business goals. While Workflow Manager is designed to coordinate and manage a workforce using jobs that straddle multiple users and roles, tasks are designed to support a single user more efficiently and guide them through a repeatable process. Although Workflow Manager and tasks can be used independently of each other, Workflow Manager provides custom steps to open a task file only or open task files while opening a map. As a Workflow Manager administrator you can store the task file to the Workflow Manager database you are connected to in the project. The tasks stored in the Workflow Manager database may be opened using a Workflow Manager OpenTask step as part of a workflow.

Add a task to a Workflow Manager database

A task file is stored in the Workflow Manager database you are connected to in your project, and the option to store the file in Workflow Manager is available from the task file context menu.

Tasks Context menu

  1. Select the task file on the Catalog pane.
  2. Right-click the task file, click Export To File , and click Workflow Manager.

    The selected task file is stored in the Workflow Manager database in the project.

Overwrite an existing task file

An existing task file can be overwritten when you send another file of the same name to Workflow Manager.

You can overwrite a task file with the same name in the Workflow Manager database.

  1. Select the task file on the Catalog pane.
  2. Right-click the task file, click Export To File, and click Workflow Manager.

    A message appears and notifies you that a task file of the same name already exists in the Workflow Manager database and asks if you want to replace it.

  3. Click Yes.

    The task file in the Workflow Manager database is overwritten with the selected task file.