Skip To Content

An overview of the Versions toolset

Versioning allows multiple users to access geographic data in a geodatabase. Versioning lets connected users simultaneously create multiple, persistent representations of the geodatabase without data duplication. The same features or rows can be concurrently edited without explicitly applying locking the data. This framework lets you create versions of a geodatabase for the states of a project, reconcile differences between versions, and update the master version of a geodatabase with the design as-built. Versioning is supported by the Enterprise geodatabase only.

An organization can use versioning to manage alternative engineering designs, solve complex what-if scenarios without impacting the corporate database, and create point-in-time representations of the database.

Primarily, versioning simplifies the editing process. Multiple users can directly modify the database without having to extract data or lock features and rows before editing.

ToolDescription

Add Field Conflict Filter

Adds a field conflict filter for a given field in a geodatabase table or feature class.

Alter Version

Alters the geodatabase version's name, description, and access permissions.

Change Version

Each input feature layer or table view will have its workspace modified to connect to the requested version.

Create Version

Creates a new version in the specified geodatabase.

Delete Version

Deletes the specified version from the input enterprise, workgroup, or desktop geodatabase.

Reconcile Versions

Reconciles a version or multiple versions against a target version.

Register As Versioned

Registers an enterprise, workgroup, or desktop geodatabase dataset as versioned.

Remove Field Conflict Filter

Removes a field conflict filter for a given field in a geodatabase table or feature class.

Unregister As Versioned

Unregisters an enterprise, workgroup, or desktop geodatabase dataset as versioned.

Versions tools.

Related topics