Skip To Content

Post Version

Summary

Posting is the process of applying the current edit session to the reconciled target version during version geodatabase editing. Before a version can be posted, it must be reconciled with a target version and all conflicts must be resolved.

Legacy:

This is a deprecated tool. The Reconcile Versions tool should be used to post versions following a reconcile.

Usage

  • Posting synchronizes the edit version with the reconciled version and saves the data.

  • Posting can't be undone since you are applying changes to a version that you are not currently editing.

  • If the reconciled version is modified between reconciling and posting, you will be notified to reconcile again before posting.

Syntax

PostVersion_management (in_workspace, version_name)
ParameterExplanationData Type
in_workspace

The ArcSDE geodatabase containing the edit version to be posted. The default is to use the workspace defined in the environment.

Workspace
version_name

Name of the edit version to be posted to the target version.

String

Code sample

import arcgisscripting
gp = arcgisscripting.create()
 
gp.postversion( "Database Connections\Connection to workspace.sde", "housing")

Licensing information

  • ArcGIS Desktop Basic: No
  • ArcGIS Desktop Standard: Yes
  • ArcGIS Desktop Advanced: Yes