Skip To Content

002145: The annotation feature class will be upgraded in place. Backup data and understand usage limitations before upgrading.

Description

The Upgrade Dataset tool upgrades the annotation dataset in place. It does not make a copy of your data before upgrading.

Once upgraded, your annotation dataset will no longer be available for use in ArcMap. The following table describes how annotation is supported:

ArcGIS VersionArcGIS Desktop AnnotationArcGIS Pro Annotation
ArcGIS Desktop

10.x

Full read, modify, and write access.

Not supported. Any feature class linked to it, or in the same feature dataset, will be read-only.

ArcGIS Pro

1.x

Read-only access.

Not supported. Any feature class linked to it, or in the same feature dataset, will be read-only.

ArcGIS Pro

2.x

Read-only access.

Full read, modify, and write access.

Solution

Ensure that you have a backup of your data before upgrading.

If you need to continue to use the annotation feature class in ArcGIS Desktop, make a copy of it and only upgrade one version.