The Remove Feature rule is used to remove specific network features or network objects represented in diagrams. This rule removes these network elements by source class or object table and, optionally, filters them based on their attributes.
It is useful to automatically discard network features or network objects that may be present among the input network elements set during diagram building. For example, to generate diagrams representing the distribution part of a network that is selected in the network map, you can use a diagram template configured with the Remove Feature rule that automatically discards all network features or network objects from the input network elements except distribution lines.
The automatic discard of linear container edges is another common use case to avoid having network linear containers and their related contents represented together in diagrams. This allows you to get simplified diagrams.
Remove Feature rule process
The Remove Feature rule doesn't preserve the topology of the graph. If diagram junctions are configured to be removed, the rule will not try to reconnect their connected edges to any target junction in the way the Reduce Junction rule does; any junction removal will cause its connected edges to also be removed from the resulting diagram.
When removing an edge, any to and from junctions are systematically removed for noncontent junctions that would become orphans.
Junctions that are connected to another edge or edges that participate in a containment association are not removed.
Remove Feature rule configuration
- The Add Remove Feature Rule tool is used to configure the entire removal of diagram features based on network source classes or object tables. It allows you to specify a list of network source classes or object tables and configure either the removal of each diagram feature based on the specified network source classes and object tables, or the removal of any diagram features except those based on the specified network source classes and object tables.
- The Add Remove Feature By Attribute Rule tool is used to configure the removal of diagram features based on one particular network source class or object table by filtering those features or objects based on their attributes.
When a Remove Feature rule is configured on a template at the beginning of its rules list, it discards the initial removed diagram features for the rest of the diagram life cycle at its generation. In this case, the diagram features are deleted from the network diagram tables, allowing space to be saved in the database and increasing performance for diagram operations.
When there is at least one other rule configured to run before a Remove Feature rule, the removed diagram features are kept in the network diagram tables. They are never deleted during the diagram life cycle.