ArcGIS Pro uses a cache to optimize performance when working in previously visited extents. This cache is refreshed when changes are made to a map, layer properties, or the data therein, such as when the features in a map are edited. In a scene, the cache also retains the geometries and symbols displayed in the 3D Layers category so they can be reused at multiple camera positions.
In most cases, caching options in layer properties can be set to invalidate the cache frequently, or to not use the cache at all. This is useful if you know the features will be updated by a third party (for instance, edited by another user) on a regular basis.
Cache with feature layers
You can set the caching behavior for a feature layer from the Layer Properties dialog box.
- Right-click a feature layer in the Contents pane and click Properties to open the Layer Properties dialog box.
- On the Cache tab, choose one of the following options:
- Keep the cache between sessions. Invalidate the cache when the data is updated.—The cache will be cleared when the data is updated. With this option, the cache is preserved between sessions as long as the data remains consistent. It refreshes itself when data is updated.
- Keep the cache between sessions. Automatically clear the cache after specified minutes.—The cache will be cleared automatically based on a time limit you specify. Use this option if you know that your data is always updated after a specific time interval.
- Clear cache when session ends.—Every time you close ArcGIS Pro, the cache is discarded.
- Don't cache any data locally.—Use this option if you have highly dynamic data that changes constantly.
You can delete the current cache for the layer immediately by clicking Clear Cache Now.
Cache with web feature layers (feature services)
When you're working with web feature layers, there are only two options for caching: Clear the cache when the session ends or Do not cache. The options for refreshing the cache on a schedule or to maintain the cache after the session ends are not available for these layer types.
Cache with web feature layers and version management capabilities
When the web feature layer has been published and the version management service (VMS) capability is enabled, the application manages the cache. In this scenario, the option to use the cache and clear it when the session ends is enabled by default and cannot be changed. When editing using the default version, you can continue to manually clear the cache at any time. When editing in a named version, the cache cannot be cleared if edits have been made but not saved or discarded. Refreshing the version also clears the cache in the case where edits have occurred on the server but are not yet reflected in the current ArcGIS Pro session. The application attempts to keep the cache in sync with the server via the edit response returned from the feature service. In cases where the edit response is too large, the application discards its copy of the local cache. A message is displayed indicating that a save or discard is required to resume caching. Once the edits have been saved or discarded, the local cache is re-created using the current state of the application.
- To clear the cache for all layers in a map, click the Refresh button in the map window or press Ctrl+F5.
- The caching options can be changed for multiple layers simultaneously. Highlight them in the Contents pane to access their shared properties.