In addition to publishing new web feature layers, you can use ArcGIS Pro to overwrite existing web feature layers to reflect changes to a GIS resource or its source data.
You can overwrite an existing web feature layer if all of the following are true:
- You are signed in to your ArcGIS organization with the account that owns the web feature layer being overwritten or as an administrator.
- The location of the web feature layer being overwritten has not changed while the Overwrite Web Layer pane is open.
In addition to overwriting the content of the web feature layer, you can modify the item description and configuration settings.
Considerations when overwriting web layers
The existing web layer, including pop-ups and symbology, is always overwritten with what is authored in ArcGIS Pro. If you overwrite a web layer, its associated data is replaced. Changes to the pop-ups or symbology, or any other updates to the web layer after it was initially published, are lost. When overwriting a web layer, the schema of the new layer you are publishing can differ from the schema of the existing web layer if the new layer has different field names, deleted fields, or new fields.
Web maps store pop-ups and symbology separately from web layers. Pop-ups stored in the web map will not be updated if the web layer is overwritten with a newly configured pop-up. If the schema of a web layer changes, you may need to reconfigure your web map's pop-ups and symbology.
For example, you shared a web layer of United States cities and authored a web map that symbolizes the layer using the name field. When you overwrite the existing web layer with a new web layer with the name field renamed to city, the web map still tries to symbolize the layer using the old name field, even though it no longer exists. You must reconfigure the symbology using city as the new field.
Overwrite a web feature layer
This workflow explains how to overwrite a web feature layer. To overwrite a web feature layer that references registered data, overwrite its associated map image layer. You can also use ArcPy to overwrite a web feature layer to a portal. To learn more, see Automate sharing web layers.
- To overwrite a web layer, do one of the following:
- Overwrite an existing web layer with all usable layers in the map. On the Share tab, in the Share As group, click the Web Layer drop-down arrow and click Overwrite Web Layer .
- Overwrite an existing web layer with selected layers in the map. Select the layers in the Contents pane. Right-click the selected layers, point to Sharing, and click Overwrite Web Layer .
The Overwrite Web Layer dialog box appears.
- On the Overwrite Web Layer dialog box, browse to the location of the web layer in your portal and select it. Click OK.
- Read the Overwrite Web Layer message and click OK to continue.
If online edits were made to the web layer, or if features were appended to it, these changes will be overwritten.
The Overwrite Web Layer pane appears. On the General tab, under Item Details, the name of the web layer is displayed. The name can't be changed.
- Under the layer name, accept the default option to Use the item description from the web layer or choose the option to Use the item description from the map or layer.
The default option preserves the item description of the current web layer. The other option overwrites it.
- Optionally modify the information in the Summary and Tags fields. If the fields are empty, you must fill them in.
The fields may be empty if you chose to use the item description from the map or layer in the previous step.
- Optionally, under Share with, change the settings:
- Everyone—This option makes your content public. Anyone can access and see it.
- My Organization—If you are signed in with an organizational account, you see this option. This option allows your content to be shared with all authenticated users in the organization.
- Groups—You can share your content with groups to which you belong and their members.
Leave all options unchecked to set the sharing level to the owner of the item.
Note:If you are the owner of the existing web feature layer, you can modify the group sharing settings.
- Optionally, click the Configuration tab and change settings.
For more information about configuring the web layer, see Configure a web feature layer.
WFS layers are not supported when overwriting web feature layers. Overwriting a web feature layer that has an associated WFS layer breaks the WFS layer. In this case, delete and recreate the WFS layer from the item details page of the web feature layer.
- Under Finish Sharing, click Analyze to check for problems.
Errors and warnings are listed on the Messages tab. Right-click a message to open its help topic or take corrective action in the software. Errors must be resolved before you can share the web layer. Resolving warnings is recommended but not required.
- When the layer is successfully published, click the Manage the web layer link at the bottom of the pane to access the web layer in your portal.
- If necessary, sign in to your portal to open the item page for the web layer. Open the layer in Map Viewer or use the Data and Visualization tabs on the item page to confirm that the web layer has been overwritten.