Skip To Content

Disable a network topology

A network topology is disabled to perform administrative tasks on a utility network. Such tasks include managing network rules, creating tiers, modifying terminal configurations, and so on. It is also suggested that the network topology be disabled for improved performance when importing large amounts of data or generous collections of associations and subnetwork controllers.

Tip:

Review the usage notes for specific tools to see the required state for the network topology.

It is not recommended that you do your general editing work while the topology is disabled. Edits that occur while the network topology is disabled are not tracked by dirty areas. When a network topology is disabled, a single dirty area covering the network is created. When the network topology is enabled again, all outstanding edits are validated.

To learn more, see Network topology and Network topology actions.

Requirements

The Input Utility Network can be from a service or a database connection.

The following requirements must be met to disable a network topology:

  • The connected ArcGIS Enterprise portal account must be the portal utility network owner.
  • An exclusive schema lock is present; this process cannot run while edits are taking place.
  • If taking place in a child version, edits must be saved.

Tip:
If referencing a utility network from a service the timeout setting can be adjusted for longer running enable and disable operations. See Tune and configure services.

Workflow

Follow these steps to disable a network topology:

  1. On the Analysis tab, in the Geoprocessing group, click Tools Tools to open the Geoprocessing pane.
  2. In the Geoprocessing pane, search for and select Disable Network Topology.
  3. For Input Utility Network, specify a utility network.
  4. Click Run.

    Any editing operations that take place are put in a queue until the operation completes.

  5. The network topology has been disabled for the specified utility network. A single dirty area exists and error features are no longer present. When the network topology is enabled again, dirty areas will not be present, but error features may exist.
    Note:

    To work with tracing and diagrams, the network topology must be enabled again. If the topology is disabled in a user version, the reconcile process can be used to inherit the state from the default branch version.


In this topic
  1. Requirements
  2. Workflow