Skip To Content

Transfer ownership of network diagrams

Transferring ownership of network diagrams is changing the owner of stored network diagrams. This may be required in different situations, such as the following examples:

  • A user leaves the company—In this case, all or part of the stored diagrams he owns must be transferred to one or several other network diagram owners.
  • Users are in charge of producing and maintaining network diagrams related to specific geographical zones and the assigned zones change—In this case, all or part of the stored diagrams related to each zone may have to be reassigned to a different owner.
Legacy:

Change Diagrams Owner cannot process utility network datasets created earlier than ArcGIS Pro 2.4, even if they have been upgraded.

Note:

Changing the network diagram owner modifies the Creator field in the diagram feature class. You can access and verify this field value when displaying the network diagram layer properties or through the Find Diagrams pane after displaying the Creator column.

The sections below detail different workflows to transfer network diagrams owned by a particular user to another user. They all use the same Change Diagrams Owner geoprocessing tool.

Caution:

This tool is an administration tool that must be run by the database utility network owner through a direct database connection to the default version. Moreover, default must be public; that is, not protected.

In addition to that requirement, the connected portal account must be the portal utility network owner to perform this operation.

Preliminary steps for transferring network diagram ownership workflows

  1. Start ArcGIS Pro.
  2. Load your project or create one.
  3. Make sure you are connected to your portal as the portal utility network owner.
  4. If there is a map referencing the utility network feature service in the project, make this map the active view. If not, add the utility network service to a new map.
  5. Since transferring ownership of diagrams cannot be processed on utility network datasets created earlier than ArcGIS Pro 2.4, even if they have been upgraded, do the following with your network dataset version:
    1. In the Contents pane, right-click the utility network layer and click Properties.

      The Layer Properties dialog box appears.

    2. Activate the Network Properties tab.
    3. In the General section, ensure that Created with ArcGIS Pro Release is 2.4.
  6. In the Contents pane toolset, click List by Data Source. Then, switch to each version your user owned or worked with, and reconcile then post each version so all their stored diagrams are in default.
  7. Close this map.

Transfer all network diagrams owned by a particular user to another user

  1. Create a direct database connection to the utility network dataset that references the diagrams for which you want to transfer ownership using the credentials of the database utility network owner. Then, add this database connection to your project.
  2. Open the Geoprocessing pane, and click Toolboxes, then expand Utility Network Tools.
  3. Expand the Network Diagrams tools subset, then double-click the Change Diagrams Owner tool.

    The Geoprocessing pane appears and loads the Change Diagrams Owner tool.

  4. Click the Browse button next to Input Utility Network or Network Diagram Layer, then under Project > Databases, select the database connection file you've just added to the project. Then, browse to and select the utility network data element and validate.
  5. Click the Target Owner drop-down list and select the network diagram owner to which you want to transfer all the network diagrams actually owned by the source owner.

    The target owner must already exist as the owner of one stored network diagram at least in the dataset to appear in this list.

  6. Then click the Source Owner drop-down list and select the actual owner of the network diagrams that are going to be transferred.
  7. Click Run.

When the process completes, all the diagrams owned by the specified source owner are owned by the specified target owner.

Change ownership of network diagrams listed in the Find Diagrams pane

  1. Create a direct database connection to the utility network dataset that references the diagrams for which you want to change ownership using the credentials of the database owner of the utility network dataset. Then, add this database connection to your project.
  2. In the Catalog pane, on the Project tab, under Databases, expand the database connection and browse to the utility network data element. Then, right-click it and click Add To New > Map.
  3. On the Utility Network tab set, in the Diagram group, click Find.

    The Find Diagrams pane appears.

  4. Then, use the Find Diagrams pane functions to identify the diagrams for which you want to transfer ownership; that is, do one of the following:
  5. When the diagram list in the Find Diagrams pane shows the diagram names for which you want to change ownership, click the diagram item or items you are interested in so it becomes checked in the list, and click Change Diagrams Owner at the bottom of the pane, Change Diagrams Owner icon.

    Note:

    This command is not visible in the Find Diagrams pane when working with a utility network service or when the user connected to the portal is not the owner of the related utility network.

    The Geoprocessing pane appears and loads the Change Diagrams Owner tool.

    The Input Utility Network or Network Diagram Layer and Diagram Names parameters are already set according to the Find Diagrams settings from which the tool was loaded.

  6. Click the Target Owner drop-down list and select the new owner who is going to be assigned for all diagrams specified in the Diagram Names list.

    The target owner must already exist as the owner of at least one stored network diagram in the dataset to appear in this list.

  7. Ignore the Source Owner parameter since the tool process will ignore it anyway, and transfer ownership for each specified network diagram, whoever its current owner is.
  8. Click Run.

When the process completes, all the specified diagrams are owned by the specified target owner.

Related topics