Available with Workflow Manager license.
A Workflow Manager repository contains Workflow Manager system data, and a workflow connection provides access to it in a project. The Workflow Manager data workspace contains the spatial data for job execution and is added to the Workflow Manager repository by an administrator. If the data workspace is configured such that each user will connect with their individual user login information, they can update the login information from within the ArcGIS Pro application.
Connect to a workflow connection
A workflow connection is a connection to the Workflow Manager enterprise geodatabase and provides access to the jobs within the Workflow Manager repository. A project can have only one workflow connection, and it is added using the New Workflow Connection command on the Connections drop-down list on the Insert tab. Once the workflow connection is established in the project, workflow views and the tab are enabled, and the workflow connection is available in the Catalog pane. The New Workflow Connection command on the Connections menu on the Insert tab is unavailable once the workflow connection has been added in the project.
If the database being added does not contain the Workflow Manager schema, the schema can be created when the connection is added using the Create Workflow Database tool. The Create Workflow Database tool is opened when Yes is clicked in the message displayed. If No is clicked, the database connection is added under Workflows in the Catalog pane, but the Workflow Manager functionality will not be available with the database.
If the database being added is from an earlier version and has an outdated schema, the schema can be upgraded when the connection is added using the Upgrade Workflow Database tool. The Upgrade Workflow Database tool is opened when Yes is clicked in the message displayed. If No is clicked, the database connection is added under Workflows in the Catalog pane, but the Workflow Manager functionality will not be available with the database.
The following steps describe how you can connect to a workflow connection in a project.
- Start the ArcGIS Pro application.
- Create a new blank project or open an existing project.
- Click Insert > Connections > New Workflow Connection.
The Database Connection dialog box appears.
- Specify the Workflow Manager database connection information.
- Click OK.
- If the requested database does not contain the required Workflow Manager schema or the schema is outdated, click Yes to create or upgrade the database in the message displayed.
The Create Workflow Database or Upgrade Workflow Database tool appears with a connection file for the database specified.
- Specify other parameters and click Run to create or upgrade the database.
- Once the database is created or upgraded, the workflow connection is added to the project.
When you connect to a user-schema geodatabase, a Geodatabase Connection Properties dialog box appears.Select the schema that contains your Workflow Manager database from the menu and click OK to connect to a specific user schema. If the dialog box is cancelled, the connection is made to the default sde-schema.
For more information, see User-schema geodatabase management.
Share a workflow connection
When a project is shared as a project package (.ppkx), the workflow connection in the project is packaged along with the jobs that are part of the project. The recipient of the package can unpack it and start using the Workflow Manager capabilities of ArcGIS Pro.
Before the workflow connection can be packaged, an ArcGIS Pro 1.0 project must be saved after opening it in the latest ArcGIS Pro version.
Once the workflow connection is established, it is added to the Catalog pane under Workflows, and a workflow view is opened.
If the workflow database schema is created or upgraded when the connection is added, the workflow view is not opened automatically. The workflow view can be opened by double-clicking the workflow connection.
Update data workspace login
When the spatial data workspace is configured with Each user will connect with their own database login as the authentication type, each user can update their data workspace login information within ArcGIS Pro.
Update Data Workspace Login
The following steps describe how you can update your individual login to the data workspace the first time or an existing login if your credential is outdated.
- Start ArcGIS Pro.
- Right-click Workflow Connection under the Workflows node on the Catalog pane and click Update Data Workspace Login.
The Data Workspace Login dialog box appears.
The Update Data Workspace Login option is only enabled if there is a data workspace configured with Each user will connect with their own database login in Workflow Manager Administrator.
- Select a data workspace from the drop-down list.
- Update the individual login information including user name and password.
- Optionally click Test Connection to test the login information you entered.
The OK button will be enabled only if the connection is successful.
- Click OK.
Once the data workspace login has been updated, the connection is established and the spatial data within the data workspace can be used by the configured user for job execution.
The updated login will be applied when ArcGIS Pro is restarted.