When you disable archiving, edits will no longer be saved in the archive class, but you must decide what will happen to the existing archive records. You specify whether or not the archive records will be deleted at the time you disable archiving.
If you choose not to delete the archive, an archive table will appear in the Catalog pane that contains the archive records. The table contains the appropriate From and To attributes for each edit made while archiving was enabled. There will be one archive table for each table for which you disable archiving. For example, if you disable archiving on a feature dataset that contains three feature classes—catch_basins, storm_drains, and gutters—and you choose not to delete archives, three tables will appear in your geodatabase: catch_basins_h, storm_drains_h, and gutters_h.
Keep the following tips in mind when disabling archiving:
- For traditional versioned datasets, you must disable archiving on a dataset before it can be unregistered as versioned.
- For branch versioned datasets, archiving cannot be disabled. Archiving is disabled during the unregister as versioned process.
- When you delete an archive-enabled dataset, the archive records are preserved in the database in an archive table (<table>_H).
To disable archiving on traditional versioned or nonversioned data, complete the following steps:
- Connect to your enterprise geodatabase as the dataset owner in the Databases folder of the Catalog pane .
- Right-click the dataset in the dataset and click Manage.
The properties dialog box appears with the Manage tab active.
- Uncheck Archiving and choose whether to keep the history table.
- No—Delete the archive table associated with this dataset.
- Yes—Preserve the archive table as a temporal table with gdb_from_date and gdb_to_date attributes, which you can still query and view in the Map pane.
Archiving has now been disabled on the dataset.