Available with Standard or Advanced license.
As edits are made to the versions in a version tree, the versions begin to differ from one another. The process of retrieving any changes from an ancestor version and merging edits from your version into it is called reconcile and post. Once you have finished editing a version, you can merge the changes you've made into another version. With traditional versioning, you can merge changes into any version that is the ancestor of that version, such as the parent or Default version.
Since you started working on your version, the ancestor version may have been changed by other users in a way that conflicts with your edits. When you reconcile your edits with the target version, these conflicts are discovered.
If there are conflicts, ArcGIS Pro initially resolves them in favor of either the version you are editing or the target version representation, depending on your preference. Once conflicts are initially resolved, you can review them one at a time and, if necessary, make any changes. For example, if a conflict is resolved in favor of the edit version, you can choose to replace it in favor of the target version or even use the editing tools to modify it in another way.
Note:This topic describes the reconcile and post process using the Versioning tab. You can also reconcile and post versions using the Reconcile Versions geoprocessing tool and the Reconcile/Post button on the Versions tab when you are in the Versions view.
In traditional versioning, to reconcile your edits with an ancestor version, the following must be true:
- You must be the only user currently editing the traditional version you are reconciling.
- No other user can be editing the target version. The exception is if the target version is Default. You can reconcile against Default even when other users are editing it.
- You must be able to view the target version, meaning it can be public or protected. If it is private, you must be the version owner or the geodatabase administrator.
- If your workflow is such that one user edits and another user reconciles, make sure the user who reconciles has full permissions to all the feature classes and tables that have been modified in the version; otherwise, the user cannot reconcile. The user reconciling must have full permissions to both sides of any relationship that has been modified, including basic or composite relationships. In this type of workflow, the user reconciling must also have sufficient version permissions. The reconciling user must be able to modify the version to reconcile, meaning it must be public and must be able to view the target version, meaning the user must own the version, or it must be public or protected.
To make changes to how conflicts are handled during the reconcile operation, see Versioning options for editing.
To perform the reconcile process, you can access the Reconcile command on the Versioning tab by clicking the List By Data Source button on the Contents pane. To start the reconcile process, click the Reconcile button on the Versioning tab. The Reconcile dialog box appears.
When the Reconcile dialog box appears, provide the following information:
- The target version.
- How you want conflicts to be defined. You have the following options:
Define conflicts at this level To detect these cases
Row (by object)
A second user edits the same row or feature, or topologically related features, as you did. The conflict occurs even if you edited different attributes.
Column (by attribute)
A second user edits the same attribute of a feature or table. This is the default.
Options for defining a conflict
- How you want ArcGIS Pro to initially resolve conflicts. You have the following options:
Resolve conflicts Description
In favor of the edit version (the version you are editing)
All conflicting features in the current version take precedence over conflicting representations in the target version.
In favor of the target version
All conflicting features in the current version are replaced by their representations in the target version.
Options for resolving a conflict
You cannot use the Undo operation to undo a reconcile operation. To undo a reconcile, you can discard changes without saving them.
To reconcile edits in your traditional version with an ancestor version, do the following:
- Click Reconcile in the Versioning group on the Versioning tab.
The Reconcile dialog box appears.
- Choose the target version.
- Specify how you want conflicts defined.
- Specify whether to resolve all conflicts in favor of the edit version or other target version.
- Click OK.
If there are conflicts, ArcGIS Pro resolves them depending on your preference. Once conflicts are resolved, you can review them one at a time and, if necessary, make any changes. For example, if a conflict is resolved in favor of the edit version, you can choose to replace it in favor of the target version or use the editing tools to modify it in another way.
Reconciling only updates the edit version so that ArcGIS Pro can check for conflicts; it does not merge changes into the target version. Once you finish reconciling and reviewing any conflicts, you complete the merging process by posting your changes to the target version.
Manage conflicts using the Conflicts view
If conflicts are detected during the reconcile process, you can review them in the Conflicts view . The Conflicts view contains all the conflict classes and their features or rows in conflict. Conflicts are organized using the data source, class, conflict category, and ObjectID. The Conflicts view can be utilized to review conflicts in more detail, mark conflicts as reviewed, and make changes to how conflicts are resolved before the post operation is performed.
To learn more about the Conflicts view, see Manage traditional version conflicts.
To post edits to the target version, you must have access to edit this version. This means the version must have the access property set to public, or you must be the geodatabase administrator.
To post changes to the target version once you have reconciled and reviewed conflicts, click Post in the Versioning group on the Versioning tab.
Other users reading the target version to which you have posted do not see the posted changes until they refresh their versioned workspaces.
Additional information about the post process:
- You can only post changes if the target version has not been modified since you last reconciled changes. If the target version has been modified in the interim, you must reconcile again before posting.
- Once changes are posted, they cannot be undone, since you are applying changes to a version you are not currently editing.
- After posting, you may continue to make more edits in your version. To apply these changes to the target version, you must perform the reconcile, conflict resolution, and posting processes again.
If posting marks the end of your workflow, you can optionally delete the version that you have been editing.