Delete calibration points

Available with Location Referencing license.

The calibration points used by ArcGIS Pipeline Referencing are stored in a feature class. Calibration points on a route can be deleted using either the Delete Point tool Delete Point on the Location Referencing tab, the Delete button Delete in the Features group, on the Edit tab, or by using attribute selection in the calibration point feature layer's attribute table.

Caution:

Before deleting a calibration point, consider if retiring the point is more logical. Retiring a calibration point preserves the historical integrity and calibration of the route. Deleting a calibration point results in recalibration of the route for the time span the calibration point was active. To retire a calibration point, change the To Date value of the calibration point using the Edit Point tool.

Learn more about modifying calibration points

Calibration point deletion scenario

The following examples illustrate the three steps of deletion and recalibration using the Delete Point tool Delete Point.

Deleting a calibration point results in recalibration of the route to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration point.

First, review the calibration points and route calibration and identify a calibration point you want to delete. In this case, 8 is identified for deletion.

Deleting a calibration point before diagram

Then, delete the calibration point with measure 8.

Deleting a calibration point diagram with existing calibration point deleted

Calibration is only updated to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration points on the route.

Deleting a calibration point resulting diagram

Delete using the Delete Point tool

Use the following steps to delete calibration points using the Delete Point tool on the Location Referencing tab.

  1. Click the Delete Point tool Delete Point in the Calibration Points group, on the Location Referencing tab.

    Traditionally versioned networks must be edited through a direct connection to the geodatabase. Branch-versioned networks, including any network configured with a user-generated route ID, must be edited through a feature service.

  2. Select the calibration point to delete on the map.

    The Delete Calibration Point pane appears with attributes for the selected calibration point populated.

    Note:

    All the fields in the Delete Calibration Point pane are read-only.

  3. Click Run.

    The calibration point is deleted, and the route is recalibrated between the nearest upstream and downstream calibration points. The Delete Calibration Point pane displays a success message when this occurs.

  4. If more calibration points are ready to be deleted, repeat the steps above to delete them.
    Note:

    If a message about acquiring locks or reconciling appears, conflict prevention is enabled.

Delete a calibration point using delete features

Complete the following steps to delete one or more calibration points using the Delete tool, in the Features group, on the Edit tab.

  1. Add the LRS feature layers, including the calibration point and network feature layers, to a map.

    You can also open a map in which the LRS feature layers are already present.

  2. Zoom in to the location where you want to delete a calibration point.
  3. Optionally, on the Location Referencing tab, in the Calibration Points group, check the Exclude manual calibration from event behaviors check box.

    When Exclude manual calibration from event behaviors is checked, event behavior in subsequent manual edits is ignored. Uncheck the check box to resume applying event behaviors to include subsequent manual edits.

  4. Click to select the calibration point you want to delete.
    Note:

    You can bulk delete calibration points by selecting multiple calibration points on the map to delete then performing the remaining steps in this workflow. You can also bulk delete calibration points selecting the calibration points to delete in the calibration point feature layer's attributes table.

  5. On the Edit tab, in the Features group, click Delete Delete.

    The Deleting selected feature progress dialog box appears and the selected calibration point is deleted.

    Note:

    Deleting a calibration points results in recalibration of the route to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration point.

  6. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click Save Save Edits.