Delete calibration points

Available with Location Referencing license.

The calibration points used by ArcGIS Roads and Highways are stored in a feature class. Calibration points on a route can be deleted using either the Delete Point tool Delete Point on the Location Referencing tab, or using the Delete button Delete in the Features group, on the Edit tab, or by using attribute selection in the calibration point feature layer's attribute table.

Caution:

Before deleting a calibration point, consider if retiring the point is more appropriate. Retiring a calibration point preserves the historical integrity and calibration of the route. Deleting a calibration point results in recalibration of the route for the time span that the calibration point was active. To retire a calibration point, use the Edit Point tool Edit Point to change the To Date value of the calibration point.

Learn more about modifying calibration points

Calibration point deletion scenario

The following examples illustrate the three steps of deletion and recalibration using the Delete Point tool Delete Point.

Deleting a calibration point results in recalibration of the route to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration point.

First, review the calibration points and route calibration and identify a calibration point to delete. In this example, 8 is identified for deletion.

Calibration point before deletion

Then, delete the calibration point with a measure of 8.

Deleting a calibration point diagram with existing calibration point deleted

Calibration is only updated to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration points on the route.

Deleting a calibration point result

Delete using the Delete Point tool

Complete the following steps to delete calibration points using the Delete Point tool on the Location Referencing tab:

  1. Click the Delete Point tool Delete Point in the Calibration Points group, on the Location Referencing tab.
    Note:

    Traditionally versioned networks must be edited through a direct connection to the geodatabase. Branch versioned networks, which include networks configured with a user-generated route ID, must be edited through a feature service.

  2. Select the calibration point you want to delete on the map.

    The Delete Calibration Point pane appears with attributes for the selected calibration point populated.

    Note:

    All of the fields in the Delete Calibration Point pane are read-only.

  3. Click Run.

    The calibration point is deleted, and the route is recalibrated between the nearest upstream and downstream calibration points. A message appears in the Delete Calibration Point pane indicating success.

    Note:

    If a message regarding acquiring locks or reconciling appears, conflict prevention is enabled.

Delete a calibration point using delete features

Complete the following steps to delete one or more calibration points using the Delete tool:

  1. Add the LRS feature layers, including the calibration point and network feature layers, to a map.

    Alternatively, open a map in which the LRS feature layers are present.

  2. Zoom in to the location where you want to delete a calibration point.
  3. Optionally, on the Location Referencing tab, in the Calibration Points group, check the Exclude manual calibration from event behaviors check box.

    When Exclude manual calibration from event behaviors is checked, event behavior in subsequent manual edits is ignored. Uncheck the check box to apply event behaviors to subsequent manual edits.

  4. Click the calibration point you want to delete.
    Note:

    Select multiple calibration points on the map to delete them all at once; then perform the remaining steps in this workflow. You can also delete calibration points in bulk by selecting them from the attributes table of the calibration point feature layer.

  5. On the Edit tab, in the Features group, click Delete Delete.

    The Deleting selected feature progress dialog box appears and the selected calibration point is deleted.

    Note:

    Deleting a calibration point results in recalibration of the route to the nearest upstream and downstream calibration point.

  6. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click Save Save Edits.