Before you share a web scene layer, you can configure it to specify the cache location and other settings. Depending on the cache location, your web scene layer may include an associated web feature layer. If it does, the feature layer is also configurable.
This workflow explains how to modify the default configuration of a web scene layer. To begin the sharing process, set general properties, and finish sharing, see Share a web scene layer. For information about the types of data that can be shared as a web scene layer, see What is a scene layer?.
Configure scene layer properties
- If necessary, open the Share As Web Layer pane.
On the General tab, confirm that the layer type is Scene.
- Click the Configuration tab. If necessary, click the Configure scene layer properties tab below it.
- Under Caching, choose where to build the cache.
If you share to ArcGIS Enterprise, you can cache on the server or locally. If you share to ArcGIS Online, you can cache online or locally.
Cache on the server or Cache online
(The option name depends on your portal.)
A web scene layer is shared with an associated feature layer. The feature layer supports editing, querying features outside the current view, and richer statistics. When this option is available, it is the default.
A scene layer package (.slpk) is shared to your portal and used to publish the web scene layer. An associated feature layer is not published. This is the only option available if you share a building layer or LAS dataset.
- If you cache locally, accept the default Temp cache location which is determined by your share and download options settings, or browse to a different location.
- If you cache on the server or online, an Attributes heading appears. Use the check boxes next to field names to include or exclude fields from the web scene layer cache.
By default, the fields to be included in the cache are the ObjectID field, any fields being used to draw or filter the data, and any field named Name. The ObjectID field and all fields being used to draw or filter the data are required. Additional information about each field, including how a required field is being used, can be viewed in the detail table under the list of fields.
If you share a web scene layer that references registered data to ArcGIS Enterprise, no caching options are presented. The web scene layer is cached on the server automatically and an associated feature layer is published.
- If you share a LAS dataset, you can optionally configure the following parameters under Point Cloud Parameters:
Point size (m)
For airborne lidar data, specify a value close to the average point spacing. For terrestrial lidar data, enter the desired point spacing for the area of interest. The default value of 0 automatically determines the best value for the input dataset.
XY max error (m)
Specify a tolerance value that represents the maximum allowable xy-error. A higher tolerance results in better data compression and more efficient data transfer.
Z max error (m)
Specify a tolerance value that represents the maximum allowable z-error. A higher tolerance results in better data compression and more efficient data transfer.
Configure web layer properties
If the web scene layer has an associated feature layer, you can configure the feature layer properties. The properties that can be configured depend on your active portal, your software version (if you are sharing to an ArcGIS Enterprise portal), and whether you are referencing data or copying data to the server. See the table in Configure a web feature layer for details.
- Click the Configure web layer properties tab .
- Check the Enable editing and allow editors to check box to enable web feature layer editing and choose what type of editing operations are permitted. Editing options include the following:
Add, update, and delete features
Editors can update and delete feature geometry and alter the attributes of features. This is the default option.
Update feature attributes only
Editors can enter attribute information for existing features. They cannot add new features or modify or delete existing feature geometry.
Add features only
Editors can add new features and enter attribute information for these new features only. They cannot modify or delete existing feature geometry or attribute information.
- Check the Enable Sync box to allow users to work with a local copy of the data when they are offline and to synchronize changes when they are online.
If you are sharing a web scene layer that references registered data and the data source is a file geodatabase, editing and sync operations are not available.
- Check the Export Data check box to allow others to export the data to different formats.
- The Allow geometry updates check box is enabled by default to allow edits to the geometry of a feature.
This option appears only when you share a web scene layer that references registered data to ArcGIS Enterprise.
- Check the Apply default to features with z-value check box to allow editors to add or update features through clients that don't allow a z-value to be given.
- Use Default z-value when inserting or updating features to set a default z-value.
- Check the Allow geometry updates without m-value check box to allow geometry updates to m-enabled features without specifying an m-value.
- Optionally, check the Preserve editor tracking info box.
This option does not appear when you share a web scene layer that references registered data to ArcGIS Enterprise.
Features created before the layer is shared may store names in editor tracking fields that don't match user names in your ArcGIS organization. For example, they may store a user name from a desktop computer or database. When you subsequently manage the web layer in your portal, you may want to restrict editing privileges so that editors can edit only features they have created themselves. (On the web layer's item details page, on the Settings tab, this option is called What features can editors edit?) If you make this restriction, and if you also chose to preserve editor tracking information, no one in your organization—except administrators—can edit existing features in the web layer because no one is recognized as the creator of those features. This is the main reason to consider not preserving editor tracking information.
Learn more about editor tracking.