Skip To Content

Concurrent Use licensing

A Concurrent Use license enables multiple users to share access to ArcGIS Desktop applications from any computer on a network or from a virtual machine. ArcGIS License Manager software installed on the network manages the distribution of a pool of shared licenses. The number of Concurrent Use licenses in the shared pool determines the number of users who can use an application at a given time. When a user starts ArcGIS Pro, the application sends a request to ArcGIS License Manager to determine if a license is available. If a license is available, the application starts and the number of available ArcGIS Pro licenses decreases by one. When the user exits ArcGIS Pro, the license returns to the pool.

Diagram of Concurrent Use license authorization process
Licenses are locked to the networked ArcGIS License Manager. Client machines on the network can check out and use a license. When the license is returned, it becomes available to another machine. Concurrent Use licenses can be taken offline.

Because ArcGIS Pro uses the Named User license type by default, a license conversion is required before Concurrent Use licenses can be authorized. Licenses are converted in My Esri by the software license administrator.

Related topics