Skip To Content

Save or discard edits

On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, Save Save Edits and Discard Discard Edits save and discard your edits, respectively. By default, a confirmation dialog box appears that allows you to verify your changes before continuing.

For steps to change these project settings, see Settings for saving edits .

Save edits

Saving edits saves all changes you made to your data since the last time you saved. This can include actions such as removing a layer, deleting a map, or changing a data source.

Note:

When you save versioned data, your changes and changes made by other editors to the same version are automatically reconciled based on your project settings for versioning. By default, attributes, not geometry, are reconciled as conflicts, and a confirmation dialog box appears that allows you to verify conflicts before continuing.

To learn more, see Change settings for editing versioned data.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage group, click Save Edits Save Edits.

    The dialog box appears.

    Save Edits
  2. Click Show edits to show details about the layers or data sources containing edits.
  3. Click Layers to show the layers.

    Save Edits Layers

  4. Click Source to show the data sources.

    Save Edits Source

  5. Click Yes to save your edits.

    Your changes are saved, and any locks placed on nonversioned data are released.

Discard edits

Discarding your edits rolls back your changes to the last time you saved your edits.

Caution:

You cannot discard edits made to nonversioned data in an enterprise geodatabase.

  1. On the Edit tab, in the Manage group, click Discard Edits Discard Edits.

    The dialog box appears and lists the layers containing unsaved edits.

    Discard Edits
  2. Click Show edits to show details about the layers and data sources containing edits.
  3. Click Layers to show the layers.

    Discard Edits Layers

  4. Click Source to show the data sources.

    Discard Edits Source

  5. Click Yes to discard your edits.

    Your changes are discarded back to the last time you saved.


In this topic
  1. Save edits
  2. Discard edits