Some items in a project can be deleted if the item allows this operation and you have the appropriate credentials to delete the item. You can delete items in the catalog view and the Catalog pane. The following methods are available to delete those items:
- Click an item to select it and click Delete on the Catalog tab on the ribbon, in the Organize group.
- Click an item to select it and press Delete.
- Right-click an item and click Delete .
- The Delete geoprocessing tool may be able to delete items that cannot be deleted using the other methods listed above.
In most cases, deleting an item cannot be undone, and a message will appear asking if you want to permanently delete the item. If the item cannot be deleted, a message will appear indicating what prevented the operation from being successful.
The following project items can be deleted:
- Maps, layouts, reports, and tasks—The item is deleted from the project.
- Databases—The files on disk are deleted. The database is also removed from the project, if appropriate. These items can be deleted when accessed from either the Databases category or a folder connection. The contents list is updated both for the Databases category and the folder.
- Toolboxes—The files on disk are deleted. The toolbox is also removed from the project, if appropriate. These items can be deleted when accessed from either the Toolboxes category or a folder connection. The contents list is updated both for the Toolboxes category and the folder.
Item categories only appear in a project if the project includes those items. For example, after successfully deleting the last map, layout, or task in the project, the Maps, Layouts, or Tasks category will no longer appear in the Catalog pane and the catalog view. The categories will reappear when you add a new map, layout, or task to the project.
The following items can also be deleted from folders that have been added to the project:
- Folders—The folder on disk and all of its contents are deleted and the contents list is updated. Folder connections can be removed from the project, but the folder associated with a folder connection cannot be deleted.
- Folder items—Many items stored in folders can be deleted. All files associated with the item on disk are deleted and the contents list is updated. Related items that depend on the deleted item's existence can also be deleted.
- Database items—The item is deleted in the database and the contents list is updated. Related items that depend on the deleted item's existence can also be deleted.
- Tools—The tool is deleted in the toolbox and the contents list is updated.
If you are signed in to the active portal and have the privileges to create, update, and delete content, you can delete some types of items from My Content as well. Related items that depend on the deleted item's existence can also be deleted. Some items can only be deleted properly using ArcGIS Enterprise.
Projects cannot be deleted in ArcGIS Pro. Close the project and delete all resources associated with the project using Windows Explorer.