The Geoprocessing tab on the Options dialog box provides options related to the geoprocessing tools, models, and scripts that you run in ArcGIS Pro. To access the Geoprocessing options, follow these steps:
- From an open project, click the Project tab on the ribbon, or, from the ArcGIS Pro start page, click Settings in the lower left corner.
- In the list on the left, click Options.
- On the Options dialog box menu, under Application, click Geoprocessing.
Alternatively, on the Analysis ribbon tab, in the Geoprocessing group, click the Options dialog box launcher .
Allow geoprocessing tools to overwrite existing datasets
This option controls whether geoprocessing tools can overwrite existing data, layers, or files when run.
- Checked—A warning is displayed for any output parameter referencing existing data, but the tool can execute and overwrite the output dataset. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Using an existing dataset path for an output parameter will raise an error, preventing you from executing the tool and overwriting the existing data.
Remove layers that reference data overwritten by geoprocessing tools
This option controls whether layers in a map will be removed if their source datasets are deleted by a geoprocessing tool that overwrites output.
- Checked—Layers with a data source that is overwritten will be removed and a new layer that references the new dataset will be added to the map. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Layers will remain as is in the map, unless the data type or shape type (point, line, or polygon) of the data changes.
Add output datasets to an open map
This option controls whether output datasets created by geoprocessing tools should be automatically added to an open map.
- Checked—Output datasets will be added to an open map. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Output datasets will not be added to an open map.
Display disabled parameters
This option controls whether geoprocessing tool parameters that are disabled will be displayed or hidden.
- Checked—Disabled parameters will be displayed in a grayed-out read-only state until the parameter is enabled, which typically happens through the tool's internal validation routine.
- Unchecked—Tool parameters that are disabled will be hidden. This is the default.
Enable Undo toggled on by default
This option controls whether the Enable Undo toggle button on geoprocessing tools that modify the input dataset will be on by default.
- Checked—Enable Undo will be automatically turned on.
- Unchecked—You will have to use the toggle button on the geoprocessing tool dialog to enable undo of the operation. This is the default.
Display data paths as shortened names
This option controls whether geoprocessing tool parameters that contain a dataset path are displayed as a shortened name.
- Checked—Dataset paths will be displayed as a shortened name, and you can click the shortened name to see the full dataset path. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Full dataset paths will always be displayed.
This option has no effect when a layer name or value that is not a dataset path is specified for a parameter.
Analyze script and model tools for ArcGIS Pro compatibility
This option controls whether script and model tools are run through a compatibility-checking routine. If the model or script tool contains reference to a data format, tool, or Python syntax that is no longer supported, an error message is returned.
- Checked—Model and script tools will be checked for compatibility with ArcGIS Pro to ensure the tool can run successfully.
- Unchecked—No compatibility check will be run before tool execution. This is the default.
You can use the Analyze Tools For Pro geoprocessing tool to manually perform the same compatibility check.
The Script Editor determines which application or Python integrated development environment (IDE) is used to edit Python script tools and Python toolboxes. When you right-click a script tool or Python toolbox and select Edit, this application will open.
The Script Editor is not used for debugging script tools, only for editing the script tool source file.
Write geoprocessing operations to Geoprocessing History
This option controls whether the tools you run are added to the current project's geoprocessing history.
- Checked—Every tool run will be logged in the project's geoprocessing history. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Tools are not logged to geoprocessing history.
Write geoprocessing operations to XML log file
This option controls whether information about all the geoprocessing tools you run is written to an external log file.
- Checked—XML log files will be created in the directory %APPDATA%\ESRI\ArcGISPro\ArcToolbox\History.
- Unchecked—XML log files are not created. This is the default.
Write geoprocessing operations to dataset metadata
This option controls whether geoprocessing tool input and output datasets' metadata is updated to include the tool name, parameters, when the tool was run, and other information.
- Checked—The dataset metadata will contain a Geoprocessing History section with logging of the tools used with that dataset. This is the default.
- Unchecked—Dataset metadata will not be updated.
The Geoprocessing History section of dataset metadata can be viewed in the FGDC metadata style.
The following options apply when using ModelBuilder.
Do not show warning when overwriting a model from previous version
When you edit a model in ArcGIS Pro that was created in a different ArcGIS Desktop application, the model is automatically upgraded to an ArcGIS Pro version when you save the model. In this scenario, a warning message appears, allowing you to continue overwriting the model or cancel the operation. This option allows you to disable the warning message.
- Checked—The warning message about upgrading the model will not appear.
- Unchecked—The warning message about upgrading the model will appear. This is the default.
These options allow you to install the R-ArcGIS bridge, check or update your current installation, or switch R home directories. Click the information button to go to the R-ArcGIS community, where you can learn more.
Detected R home directories
After you have installed R, you can select the installation or home directory of R to use to execute your R script tools. You can select from a list of automatically detected home directories, or browse to select a location on disk.
If you've selected a valid R home directory, this option looks for the presence of the R-ArcGIS integration package, arcgisbinding, in the home directory.
- If arcgisbinding is found, you can look for updates, download the latest version, and update from a file.
- If arcgisbinding is not found, you are presented with a warning and options to download and install the package.