This message is displayed on the Editing Status dialog box.
The following editing scenarios can cause this error:
- Editing nonversioned feature data stored in an enterprise geodatabase
- Editing the default version of branch versioned feature data that is published with version management enabled
Other actions, such as a changed layer property or a deleted feature template, continue to be recorded and can be undone.
If you are editing nonversioned feature data, you can do one of the following:
- Register the feature data as versioned.
- Publish the feature data as web layers and edit the feature service.
If you are editing the default version against a branch versioned service, create a branch version and edit that version. After making your edits, you can record and post the changes back to the default version.