LRS network

适用于 Location Referencing 许可。

ArcGIS Pipeline Referencing supports three types of networks: linear referencing system (LRS) networks, LRS line networks, and LRS derived networks.

LRS network

An LRS Network is a collection of routes measured to a specific linear referencing method (LRM).


Odometer networks and county networks.

LRS Network

LRS line network

An LRS line network is a logical grouping of routes to a line where the measure may increase or decrease monotonically. This type of network supports events that span routes and also supports equations.


An Engineering Station Network feature class holds the required fields to be modeled as a line network.

LRS Line Network

Route IDRoute NameLine OrderLine IDLine Name


Route 1



Line A


Route 2



Line A


Route 3



Line A

LRS derived network

A derived network is a network generated from a line network. In a derived network, routes that belong to the same line are merged together to create one route with a beginning measure of zero.


Using an Engineering Station Network feature class as the parent network, the continuous network routes can be derived. A derived network is a collection of routes where the measures are continuous, a non-branching run of a physical pipe. These measures can then be used for length reporting and dynamic segmentation analysis.

LRS Derived Network

Why are different types of LRS networks needed?

Pipeline Referencing supports multiple linear referencing in a single geodatabase. Business units in an organization may need to report measures in many different LRMs. For example, engineering and construction may need to collect, maintain, and report events in engineering measures (also known as engineering stations), whereas other business entities need to report measures based on the continuous length of the pipe.

Location Referencing currently does not have a limit for the number of networks that you can create in a linear referencing system (LRS). However, the type of LRS Networks you need depends on your organization’s business process. Consider the following business case:

In a pipeline organization, there are three business units that collect, manage, and maintain pipeline assets. These three business units are surveying, engineering and construction, and regulatory and compliance.

The surveying group is in charge of collecting inline inspection (ILI) data, whereas the engineering and construction group is responsible for new construction, realignments, and work order management. The regulatory and compliance group is tasked with submitting and generating reports for the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) and other government entities.

In this case, three types of LRS networks are needed to sustain each of the three business units.

When are different types of LRS networks required?

If your business process only requires one type of network, you do not have to configure multiple LRS Networks. For example, if your business process needs to maintain and report only continuous measures, then you can configure your LRS to only support the LRS Network. Similarly, if your business process collects and maintains event data, but does not generate or submit reports, you can configure an LRS line network and an LRS derived network. In this case, you will configure events to store derived measures.


The LRS derived network is generated from the LRS line network. If you don't configure an LRS line network, the LRS derived network can't be configured.