ArcGIS Pro licensing

After ArcGIS Pro is installed on a machine, it is enabled for use when it has a valid license.

ArcGIS Pro can be configured to use different license types. Depending on the license type, licenses are authorized, managed, and validated by ArcGIS Pro in different ways. These license types allow you to optimize the value of your licenses based on the answers to logistical questions, such as the following:

  • Will one person or many use ArcGIS Pro?
  • If many people use it, will they work at the same time?
  • Will the person or people always use ArcGIS Pro on the same computer?

Three license levels—Basic, Standard, and Advanced—provide progressively more functionality. Licenses for extension products provide additional functionality for specific needs. Extensions require a separate license and may need to be installed separately.

License duration can affect whether a license is currently valid.

The sections below and other help topics explain licensing options and workflows in more detail.

License types

There are three license types:

  • Named User licenses are the default license type. In an ArcGIS organization, they are assigned automatically to the GIS Professional user type and optionally to the Creator user type. With a Named User license, an organization member signs in to ArcGIS Pro with their organization credentials.
  • Single Use licenses authorize one person to use ArcGIS Pro. That person can use the software on one computer at a time, while having it installed on a maximum of two computers. Single Use licenses are obtained by converting ArcGIS Pro licenses that come with a Single Use ArcGIS Desktop deployment from Named User to Single Use.
  • Concurrent Use licenses authorize the use of ArcGIS Pro independently of an ArcGIS organization from a pool of licenses managed by ArcGIS License Manager. Concurrent Use licenses are obtained by converting ArcGIS Pro licenses that come with a Concurrent Use ArcGIS Desktop deployment from Named User to Concurrent Use.

ArcGIS Pro license levels

An ArcGIS Pro license has one of three license levels:

  • Basic
  • Standard
  • Advanced

Each license level enables progressively more functionality in ArcGIS Pro.

An ArcGIS Pro license that is included with ArcGIS Desktop has the same level as the corresponding ArcGIS Desktop license.

License duration

ArcGIS Pro licenses are either subscription or perpetual. A subscription license is renewed annually. A perpetual license entitles you to use the application indefinitely.

Named User licenses are subscription based. They are renewed annually along with your ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Enterprise organization. It is necessary to stay current with an Esri Maintenance Program to receive product updates and technical support, and to keep your ArcGIS organization active.

Single Use and Concurrent Use licenses can be either subscription or perpetual.

Extension product licenses

ArcGIS Pro extension products integrate seamlessly with the core application to provide specialized functionality. Extensions are licensed separately from the core application but must have the same license type (Named User, Single Use, or Concurrent Use) as the core application with which they are used. Extensions don't have license levels—they work with any license level of ArcGIS Pro.


ArcGIS Desktop extension products include licenses for both the ArcGIS Desktop version and the ArcGIS Pro version of the extension (if an ArcGIS Pro version exists). However, the ArcGIS Desktop and ArcGIS Pro versions are separate products and the licenses are authorized separately.

Related topics